New Linux musician in Michigan

Why not tell us a little bit about yourself? Welcome to the community!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

1987cp
Established Member

New Linux musician in Michigan

Post by 1987cp »

Hello all!

I'm an amateur classical/acoustic musician that has recently become a Linux church musician out of a combination of necessity and opportunity.

Long story short, after being persuaded to surrender (well, take away for my personal use) our ailing vintage Hammond organ my wife and I had begun using at church, I immediately followed up on some previous research I'd done and installed GrandOrgue on my old Lenovo laptop still running Windows 7, inputting from the cheapest USB keyboard MIDI controller they had in stock at Guitar Center and outputting from my onboard soundcard to the church's (rather unreliable) soundboard and powered speakers. This worked, but involved putting up with the limitations on running large organ registrations with 8 GB of RAM, as well as dialing back sound to avoid the massive distortion from pushing pipe organ sound through that particular sound system.