deeply confused with ALSA and JACK

Still new to all of this? Feel free to post in any of the subforums on this site, but in this subforum newbie questions are especially encouraged!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

daverezi

deeply confused with ALSA and JACK

Post by daverezi »

good tidings all, I am not new to music production however, i am new to music production on linux.
Currently, all that I want in the world is to be able to record the sound coming from my bass guitar. I have tried a cavalcade of options to try and read this point, but they all seem to have the common problem:
My VOLT 1 audio interface uses ALSA, which seems doggedly insistent with not communicating with JACK or any of the DAW, of which I have tried several. Am I missing something? Is there a trick to it which I have yet to learn? Please help.
All my love,
Daverezi

folderol
Established Member

Re: deeply confused with ALSA and JACK

Post by folderol »

Get the excellent QjackCtl program (available with all distros). This will enable you to link the Jack server to ALSAs interface.

The Yoshimi guy {apparently now an 'elderly'}
beate
Established Member

Post by beate »

Many of the recording tools, especially audacity, its forks, and ardour work happily with Alsa alone. And for simple tasks that is entirely sufficient.

Of course You need to determine the Alsa device to be used using arecord -l, and possibly audacity or something alike (tenacity, maybe) is the easier tool for the beginning. As long as You deal with projects where only on or maybe 2 channels are to be recorded simltanously, You'll be happy with a simple Audacity/Alsa setup. Jack comes into play as soon as the tasks become more complicated (which starts at syncronously piping the output of, say, Hydrogen, into the tool) or if more than 2 tracks need to be recorded at once (Audacity provides meters only for the 1st two tracks, and its horizontal scrolling can lead to dropouts - my experience while recording 4 channels with it)