dedicated Hobby Musician & Linux User

Why not tell us a little bit about yourself? Welcome to the community!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

talby
Established Member

dedicated Hobby Musician & Linux User

Post by talby »

Hello,
I am a dedicated Hobby Musician & Linux User now adding to it some personal home recording. Guess what, recording and audio editing shall take place in my Debian Linux environment.

I mainly aim to refine my musicianship by constantly reviewing my classical guitar, drums and piano rehearsals. Maybe some good recording might become shared with friends.

I am no more a newby, neither in playing instruments nor in technical education about computers, instruments, electronic accessories and software, but haven't recorded and edited anything for the last 15 years. Years ago all my recording equipment was analog: a small mixing console, a 4 track tape recorder, and a that time small DAW for MS Windows the versions of both of them nowadays having evolved to almost no more recognizable much bigger products. So, giving personal home recording a new start now, I am certainly going to reuse my microphones and accessories, will most likely replace my small mixing console with a nowadays small 4 channel audiointerface, and am for sure in need to find some new multitrack recording software.
Looking forward to learning a lot from you and sharing my knowledge where applicable.
Best wishes,
Talby

refining my amateur musicianship by reviewing my rehearsals

Basslint
Established Member

Re: dedicated Hobby Musician & Linux User

Post by Basslint »

Hello! Since you seem to do a lot of tracking, I heartily recommend Ardour as a DAW.

The community of believers was of one heart and mind, and no one claimed that any of his possessions was his own, but they had everything in common. [Acts 4:32]

Please donate time (even bug reports) or money to libre software 🎁

Jam on openSUSE + GeekosDAW!
RyanH
Established Member

Post by RyanH »

Welcome!

talby