Anyone using Caustic (3.2) ?

Discuss running non-Linux applications and plugins on Linux, for example via wine

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

korakios
Established Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 6:00 pm

Anyone using Caustic (3.2) ?

Postby korakios » Tue Sep 11, 2018 2:11 pm

3.1 seems to work via wine but can't make 3.2 to work :(

Luc
Established Member
Posts: 741
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2015 1:04 pm

Re: Anyone using Caustic (3.2) ?

Postby Luc » Tue Sep 11, 2018 6:21 pm

The same for me since 3.2 was released. But our fellow member tavasti has reported success running 3.2:

viewtopic.php?f=46&t=15412&p=79362

Go figure.

Either way, for some mysterious reason, I've found that everything in it sounds better if I run it on the Android device as intended and connect the device's audio output to my audio interface and route the signal into the DAW than it does if I run Caustic on Wine.

tavasti
Established Member
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:56 am
Location: Kangasala, Finland
Contact:

Re: Anyone using Caustic (3.2) ?

Postby tavasti » Tue Sep 11, 2018 6:50 pm

korakios wrote:3.1 seems to work via wine but can't make 3.2 to work :(

It just needs more recent libs, so needed winetricks are vcrun2013 (at least)

See also http://singlecellsoftware.com/node/3369
Linux veteran & Novice musician

Hear my music at https://audiu.net/users/tawaste

korakios
Established Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 6:00 pm

Re: Anyone using Caustic (3.2) ?

Postby korakios » Tue Sep 11, 2018 7:46 pm

Hi,@tavasti
On the link you say:
"I have Ubuntu 16.04, running Wine-staging 2.14. I've done winetricks vcrun2013. Caustic 3.2 starts as black screen.

However, with ubuntu packed version, winetricks vcrun2013 and it runs."

What do you mean? I am on Debian with KXStudio repositories enabled (AVLinux) (wine staging 1.15)

I enabled temporarily the Sid repos (testing) and updated Winetricks, PlayOnLinux
-Winetricks cannot retrieve vcrun2013
-PlayOnLinux can't run Caustic with vcrun2013 (black screen)

tavasti
Established Member
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:56 am
Location: Kangasala, Finland
Contact:

Re: Anyone using Caustic (3.2) ?

Postby tavasti » Tue Sep 11, 2018 8:01 pm

korakios wrote:Hi,@tavasti
On the link you say:
"I have Ubuntu 16.04, running Wine-staging 2.14. I've done winetricks vcrun2013. Caustic 3.2 starts as black screen.

However, with ubuntu packed version, winetricks vcrun2013 and it runs."

What do you mean? I am on Debian with KXStudio repositories enabled (AVLinux) (wine staging 1.15)

I enabled temporarily the Sid repos (testing) and updated Winetricks, PlayOnLinux
-Winetricks cannot retrieve vcrun2013
-PlayOnLinux can't run Caustic with vcrun2013 (black screen)

With wine-staging 2.14 it did not run, with ubuntu wine ok. Now running Ubuntu 18.04 with wine 3.15, I suppose wine-devel? See https://www.winehq.org/ for wine versions.
Linux veteran & Novice musician

Hear my music at https://audiu.net/users/tawaste

korakios
Established Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 6:00 pm

Re: Anyone using Caustic (3.2) ?

Postby korakios » Tue Sep 11, 2018 9:03 pm

Thanks @tavasti , I appreciate this :)
I already 3.15 staging and just tried with the 3.15 dev version.
I had some progress with actually seeing the GUI (not black screen) but I run across msvcr120.dll error.
With winetricks I can't download vcrun2013 (says it can't find it) and by manual downloading vcredist_x86.exe still doesn't help.
I guess I could try PlayOnLinux .but in that case I can't install wineasio!!!
Dead End I guess...

tavasti
Established Member
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:56 am
Location: Kangasala, Finland
Contact:

Re: Anyone using Caustic (3.2) ?

Postby tavasti » Wed Sep 12, 2018 4:19 am

korakios wrote:With winetricks I can't download vcrun2013 (says it can't find it) and by manual downloading vcredist_x86.exe still doesn't help.
I guess I could try PlayOnLinux .but in that case I can't install wineasio!!!
Dead End I guess...

Maybe you have some outdated winetricks? I suppose I don't have wineasio, and because it is daw, not instrument you play live, I don't think latency will be issue? Or are you going to record midi with caustic on linux?
Linux veteran & Novice musician

Hear my music at https://audiu.net/users/tawaste

korakios
Established Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 6:00 pm

Re: Anyone using Caustic (3.2) ?

Postby korakios » Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:55 am

it must be a bug from winetricks and Debian combo. I manually downloaded
vcredist_x86 on
~/.cache/winetricks/vcrun2013/vcredist_x86.exe
then with
winetricks vcrun2013
installed fine

Updated to wine-dev from staging and worked :)
No need for setting 32bit prefix or setting wine to XP.

But updating to winehq-devel broke wineasio for low-latency. Since I use other apps I decided to leave Caustic for now until new versions come....

tavasti
Established Member
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:56 am
Location: Kangasala, Finland
Contact:

Re: Anyone using Caustic (3.2) ?

Postby tavasti » Wed Sep 12, 2018 11:55 am

korakios wrote:Updated to wine-dev from staging and worked :)
No need for setting 32bit prefix or setting wine to XP.

But updating to winehq-devel broke wineasio for low-latency. Since I use other apps I decided to leave Caustic for now until new versions come....

You can have multiple wine versions and wine directories.

WINEPREFIX="/home/korakios/.wine-caustic" /opt/wine-devel/bin/wine Caustic.exe


For example, I have own wine directory for rocksmith, so that other stuff won't break it.
Linux veteran & Novice musician

Hear my music at https://audiu.net/users/tawaste

Jack Winter
Established Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 3:52 pm

Re: Anyone using Caustic (3.2) ?

Postby Jack Winter » Wed Sep 12, 2018 11:59 am

For those experiencing problems with wineasio and various wine installations, check that the 32/64b wineasio.dll.so are installed in the right places. If they were installed in /usr/lib/wine, etc, it won't work with a wine installed in /opt or elsewhere. You'd have to copy the libs manually to the right place.

Note that this is unrelated to the concept of wineprefixes, though wineasio will have to be registered in each prefix.
Reaper/KDE/Archlinux. i7-2600k/16GB + i7-4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, WA273-EQ, 2 x WA-412, ADL-600, Tegeler TRC, etc 8) For REAPER on Linux information: https://wiki.cockos.com/wiki/index.php/REAPER_for_Linux

korakios
Established Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 6:00 pm

Re: Anyone using Caustic (3.2) ?

Postby korakios » Wed Sep 12, 2018 12:21 pm

I searched

Code: Select all

locate wineasio.dll.so


Code: Select all

/opt/wine-staging/lib/wine/wineasio.dll.so
/opt/wine-staging/lib64/wine/wineasio.dll.so
/usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/wine/wineasio.dll.so
/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/wine/wineasio.dll.so


Did

Code: Select all

regsvr32 /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/wine/wineasio.dll.so

or

Code: Select all

regsvr32 /opt/wine-staging/lib/wine/wineasio.dll.so


But didn't work. It succesfully registered but wineasio is not shown.
I also couldn't remove the staging package cause of dependencies and maybe there was a mess (co-existed with dev). Although Caustic did work (without ASIO), every time I did something with wine (eg winecfg ot launch a windows app) I got a message something about "updating wine configuration", everytime.

Maybe setting a virtual-machine with networking audio from guest to host would easier for me....

tavasti
Established Member
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:56 am
Location: Kangasala, Finland
Contact:

Re: Anyone using Caustic (3.2) ?

Postby tavasti » Wed Sep 12, 2018 2:52 pm

korakios wrote:I searched

Code: Select all

locate wineasio.dll.so


Code: Select all

/opt/wine-staging/lib/wine/wineasio.dll.so
/opt/wine-staging/lib64/wine/wineasio.dll.so
/usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/wine/wineasio.dll.so
/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/wine/wineasio.dll.so


Did

Code: Select all

regsvr32 /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/wine/wineasio.dll.so

or

Code: Select all

regsvr32 /opt/wine-staging/lib/wine/wineasio.dll.so


But didn't work. It succesfully registered but wineasio is not shown.
I also couldn't remove the staging package cause of dependencies and maybe there was a mess (co-existed with dev). Although Caustic did work (without ASIO), every time I did something with wine (eg winecfg ot launch a windows app) I got a message something about "updating wine configuration", everytime.

Maybe setting a virtual-machine with networking audio from guest to host would easier for me....

Your wineasio dll is under /opt/wine-staging and it does not work with wine-devel because that is under /opt/wine-devel/
Linux veteran & Novice musician

Hear my music at https://audiu.net/users/tawaste

korakios
Established Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 6:00 pm

Re: Anyone using Caustic (3.2) ?

Postby korakios » Wed Sep 12, 2018 3:05 pm

Thanks all for the suggestions :)
I've decided to give up until Caustic comes as Linux native app (even paid)...
Hopefully if someone else comes to this thread finds useful info.
Maybe

Code: Select all

regsvr32 /opt/wine-devel/lib/wine/wineasio.dll.so

will also fix wineasio issues :wink:

Jack Winter
Established Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 3:52 pm

Re: Anyone using Caustic (3.2) ?

Postby Jack Winter » Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:25 pm

I don't think a virtual machine will work very well, at least if you want low latency. I did try a few years ago, and the result was pretty miserable, but the years have moved on, and I've actually been thinking about trying again to see what has improved.

Note that for 64b wineasio you need to do

Code: Select all

wine64 regsvr32 wineasio
adding /path/to/wineasio.dll.so is a good idea, never thought about that..
Reaper/KDE/Archlinux. i7-2600k/16GB + i7-4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, WA273-EQ, 2 x WA-412, ADL-600, Tegeler TRC, etc 8) For REAPER on Linux information: https://wiki.cockos.com/wiki/index.php/REAPER_for_Linux

korakios
Established Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 6:00 pm

Re: Anyone using Caustic (3.2) ?

Postby korakios » Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:37 pm

Off_Topic.
A VM with audio disabled and routing audio via network using dummy audio driver works fine :) Not realtime but acceptable (edit : almost real-time :) ) and far better than defaults!
PS. Reaper works that way (reastream)


Return to “Running non-linux software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests