OpenAV Productions: Sorcer

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

harryhaaren
Established Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 11:39 am

Re: OpenAV Productions: Sorcer

Postby harryhaaren » Mon Sep 16, 2013 8:23 am

dednikko wrote:harryhaaren,

First of all, as a supporter, thank you for keeping the plugins moving forward! I have a couple of questions.

How can a compiling newbie like me get the latest version of your software? Is there a great reason for requiring me to compile, as opposed to using lv2create to give us a simpler install process?

Also, what is this Luppp about? At a glance it appears to be like a plugin based upon the loop triggers in Ableton Live. Is that accurate?

Hi DedNikko,
Thanks for the thanks!

Compilation instructions are available in the github README, check the INSTALL section:
https://github.com/harryhaaren/openAV-sorcer
If you need help installing the dependencies and running make, please use the channels your distro has set up for help.
I've never heard of "lv2create" you'll need to tell me what it is, and where to get it :D

Luppp is a host, not a plugin. That is, its a program that runs on its own, not inside another program.
Its targeted for live-performance with a grid-based looping workflow. I'm currently making progress with Luppp,
please follow this page for details: http://openavproductions.com/luppp/

Cheers, -Harry
Image

j_e_f_f_g
Established Member
Posts: 1059
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:48 pm

Re: OpenAV Productions: Sorcer

Postby j_e_f_f_g » Mon Sep 16, 2013 11:15 am

harryhaaren wrote:"lv2create" you'll need to tell me what it is, and where to get it


LV2 Create is a gui utility I wrote for developers to help them create lv2/ladspa plugins. It makes the ttl files, C or C++ source code, makefile and installer.

It's available from my web page under Software Programs.

http://home.roadrunner.com/~jgglatt/

tatch
Established Member
Posts: 662
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 3:18 pm

Re: OpenAV Productions: Sorcer

Postby tatch » Mon Sep 16, 2013 11:52 am

dednikko wrote:How can a compiling newbie like me get the latest version of your software? Is there a great reason for requiring me to compile, as opposed to using lv2create to give us a simpler install process?


you need to compile stuff that isn't precompiled (ie has binaries). lv2create has nothing to do with creating binaries, it's a tool to help developers develop plugins in lv2.

re:luppp, it looks exciting! looking forward to trying it out.

harryhaaren
Established Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 11:39 am

Re: OpenAV Productions: Sorcer

Postby harryhaaren » Mon Sep 16, 2013 11:58 am

tatch wrote:you need to compile stuff that isn't precompiled (ie has binaries). lv2create has nothing to do with creating binaries, it's a tool to help developers develop plugins in lv2.

Thanks tatch, that's the one.

NedNikko, your distro might have it packaged. Add the KxStudio repos if you're on Ubuntu, they're in there :)
Image

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: OpenAV Productions: Sorcer

Postby ssj71 » Mon Sep 16, 2013 5:35 pm

tatch wrote: lv2create has nothing to do with creating binaries,


Technically yes it does, because it will compile binaries for 32 & 64 bit & ladspa versions for you to distribute. However I don't think this is a great solution for endusers. So you are effectively correct.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

j_e_f_f_g
Established Member
Posts: 1059
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:48 pm

Re: OpenAV Productions: Sorcer

Postby j_e_f_f_g » Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:33 am

ssj71 wrote:it will compile binaries for 32 & 64 bit & ladspa versions for you


Since lv2create generates the makefile, it also has a "Compile" button to generate the binary. (Invokes gcc and displays its output in lv2create's window). lv2create is meant to be an IDE for lv2/ladspa dev.

ssj71 wrote:I don't think this is a great solution for endusers.


Well the binaries produced are the same an enduser would get from compiling himself. I assume you're referring to the installer?

ssj71
Established Member
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:36 pm

Re: OpenAV Productions: Sorcer

Postby ssj71 » Tue Sep 17, 2013 5:01 pm

j_e_f_f_g wrote:Well the binaries produced are the same an enduser would get from compiling himself. I assume you're referring to the installer?


I mean I wouldn't expect a user to open the source in lv2create and click compile. Give them the binaries that it makes. Or the source as I do.
_ssj71

music: https://soundcloud.com/ssj71
My plugins are Infamous! http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
I just want to get back to making music!

werock
Established Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 11:23 am

Re: OpenAV Productions: Sorcer

Postby werock » Wed Oct 23, 2013 9:37 pm

This is my first venture into LV2 plugins, so excuse the daft question!

I must be missing something totally obvious, but how do you load a preset? I'm trying to use Sorcer in QTractor, which loads the plugin fine, but I can't see how you load a preset. Someone please enlighten me!

harryhaaren
Established Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 11:39 am

Re: OpenAV Productions: Sorcer

Postby harryhaaren » Wed Oct 23, 2013 11:36 pm

werock wrote:This is my first venture into LV2 plugins, so excuse the daft question!

I must be missing something totally obvious, but how do you load a preset? I'm trying to use Sorcer in QTractor, which loads the plugin fine, but I can't see how you load a preset. Someone please enlighten me!


Right: QTractor is difficult to use with presets:
1. In the "Track properties" dialog (where you load the plugin) you can right click on the "Plugin bar" (the horizontal strip with the green LED and "Sorcer").
2. In the right click options, there's a "Direct Access" option.
3. The new "Direct Access" dialog has a drop-down menu to select a preset.

This is something that should be improved in QTractor: the plugins *can't* do presets manually.
Perhaps file a "feature-request" on Qtractor to add that drop-down preset box to the horizontal "Plugin bar" I mentioned above?
That would make it easier somewhat.

Thanks for the question: you're not the only one finding that difficult: it took me a few minutes too! :D
Cheers, -Harry
Image

werock
Established Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 11:23 am

Re: OpenAV Productions: Sorcer

Postby werock » Thu Oct 24, 2013 7:21 am

Thanks for the guidance, I'll try that later.

werock
Established Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 11:23 am

Re: OpenAV Productions: Sorcer

Postby werock » Thu Oct 24, 2013 7:30 am

Regarding the plugins not doing presets, when I use the SynthV1 LV2, it has built in preset loading/saving functionality. Is that some little cheat that Rui has got up his sleeve? :)

harryhaaren
Established Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 11:39 am

Re: OpenAV Productions: Sorcer

Postby harryhaaren » Thu Oct 24, 2013 11:28 am

werock wrote:Regarding the plugins not doing presets, when I use the SynthV1 LV2, it has built in preset loading/saving functionality. Is that some little cheat that Rui has got up his sleeve? :)

I don't know: But i'll look into it, thanks for mentioning.
Image

User avatar
rncbc
Established Member
Posts: 751
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 12:20 pm
Contact:

Re: OpenAV Productions: Sorcer

Postby rncbc » Thu Oct 24, 2013 9:08 pm

werock wrote:Regarding the plugins not doing presets, when I use the SynthV1 LV2, it has built in preset loading/saving functionality. Is that some little cheat that Rui has got up his sleeve? :)


yes the vee-ones do store/load their presets on their own files; that is a common native feature of both the standalone and the plugin forms: they store/load their presets as xml files in and from the local file-system namespace;

i think you're talking about LV2 plugin state presets which are stored/loaded as in/from the LV2 namespace: the LV2 vee-ones don't do that, yet though. however you can save LV2 presets of any LV2 plugin loaded in Qtractor, provided you use the native generic plugin editor dialog (menu Plugin/Properties...). all LV2 presets saved that way should be then readily available on all and every LV2 host thereafter, no necessarily being a Qtractor feature only.

hth.
cheers

harryhaaren
Established Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 11:39 am

Re: OpenAV Productions: Sorcer

Postby harryhaaren » Thu Oct 24, 2013 10:32 pm

rncbc wrote:i think you're talking about LV2 plugin state presets which are stored/loaded as in/from the LV2 namespace

Right yes: in short, its not possible make (pure LV2) plugins save state manually, or restore state themselves: its left to the host program to implement that functionality.
Image

harryhaaren
Established Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 11:39 am

Re: OpenAV Productions: Sorcer

Postby harryhaaren » Thu Oct 24, 2013 11:10 pm

falkTX wrote:Correction, there *is* a way:
http://kxstudio.sourceforge.net/ns/lv2ext/programs


Ah thanks for the correction, I wasn't aware of that extension: I'll look into it.
Image


Return to “Plugins, Effects and Instruments”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests