Bug in Midi Transform

MusE is a DAW for Linux with both MIDI and Audio editing. https://muse-sequencer.github.io

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz, spamatica

Post Reply
j_e_f_f_g
Established Member
Posts: 2032
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:48 pm
Been thanked: 358 times

Bug in Midi Transform

Post by j_e_f_f_g »

I'm writing up the tutorial for how to use Muse's MIDI Transform function. I think I found a bug. It concerns setting the Filter's Event Type operation to "Unequal".

If you choose to match Note events like so:

2.png
2.png (3.08 KiB) Viewed 20309 times

Then it properly works. Here's the Event List for a test MIDI track I made:

1.png
1.png (13.86 KiB) Viewed 20309 times

The problem is with other event types. For example, select "Pitch Bend" events:

3a.png
3a.png (3.16 KiB) Viewed 20305 times
Last edited by j_e_f_f_g on Sat Jul 29, 2023 12:10 am, edited 2 times in total.

Author of BackupBand at https://sourceforge.net/projects/backupband/files/
My fans show their support by mentioning my name in their signature.

j_e_f_f_g
Established Member
Posts: 2032
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:48 pm
Been thanked: 358 times

Re: Bug in Midi Transform

Post by j_e_f_f_g »

I would expect this to select all events except pitch wheel. But it doesn't select Notes either.

3.png
3.png (13.82 KiB) Viewed 20321 times

Similiarly, "Control Change" doesn't select Pitch Bend, when it should:

5.png
5.png (13.26 KiB) Viewed 20321 times

Attached in a .7z file containing my test midi.

Attachments
test.7z
(2.98 KiB) Downloaded 73 times

Author of BackupBand at https://sourceforge.net/projects/backupband/files/
My fans show their support by mentioning my name in their signature.

j_e_f_f_g
Established Member
Posts: 2032
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:48 pm
Been thanked: 358 times

Re: Bug in Midi Transform

Post by j_e_f_f_g »

I found something else that seems weird. Let's say I want to select all notes in the range of a2 to e3.

Here's how I set the Filter's "Value 1":

5.png
5.png (3.49 KiB) Viewed 20295 times

Here's what gets selected. The a2 is selected, but the e3 is not.

5a.png
5a.png (12.97 KiB) Viewed 20291 times

That seems strange that the low note of the range I specified is selected, but the high note is not. I would think that logically either both would be selected, or both excluded.

But ok, the low one is, and the high one isn't.

Author of BackupBand at https://sourceforge.net/projects/backupband/files/
My fans show their support by mentioning my name in their signature.

j_e_f_f_g
Established Member
Posts: 2032
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:48 pm
Been thanked: 358 times

Re: Bug in Midi Transform

Post by j_e_f_f_g »

So I just need to increment (by 1) the high note to catch that e3. So here I set it to f3:

6.png
6.png (3.37 KiB) Viewed 20290 times

Well, I do catch the e3 now. But I lost the a2, even though I didn't change the low range at all. Huh?

6a.png
6a.png (14.08 KiB) Viewed 20290 times

Note: I used the same midi test file as before.

Author of BackupBand at https://sourceforge.net/projects/backupband/files/
My fans show their support by mentioning my name in their signature.

j_e_f_f_g
Established Member
Posts: 2032
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:48 pm
Been thanked: 358 times

Re: Bug in Midi Transform

Post by j_e_f_f_g »

Uh oh. I think I found something else, but I believe it's the same bug as above. Set the option to "Lower" than f#3.

9a.png
9a.png (2.94 KiB) Viewed 20262 times

Apply, and this works at catching the a2 and e3.

7b.png
7b.png (11.57 KiB) Viewed 20262 times

Lower it to f3 and Apply. Result is same as above (a2 and e3 selected). Good.

Now lower it to e3, and it doesn't select the e3. Still fine.

7.png
7.png (12.98 KiB) Viewed 20262 times
Last edited by j_e_f_f_g on Sat Jul 29, 2023 6:16 am, edited 2 times in total.

Author of BackupBand at https://sourceforge.net/projects/backupband/files/
My fans show their support by mentioning my name in their signature.

j_e_f_f_g
Established Member
Posts: 2032
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:48 pm
Been thanked: 358 times

Re: Bug in Midi Transform

Post by j_e_f_f_g »

But raise it up to f3 and Apply. We should expect to see both the a2 and e3. But we lose the a2.

6.png
6.png (12.85 KiB) Viewed 20258 times

And yet when we went from f#3 to f3, the result for f3 was correct. In other words, f3 gives two different results, depending upon whether the previous value was below (e3) or above (f#3).

Author of BackupBand at https://sourceforge.net/projects/backupband/files/
My fans show their support by mentioning my name in their signature.

User avatar
Impostor
Established Member
Posts: 1392
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2022 1:55 pm
Has thanked: 148 times
Been thanked: 366 times

Re: Bug in Midi Transform

Post by Impostor »

I guess it's undocumented for a reason!

But, I (again) fail to see a use case where you'd want to transform events of all types except one specific type, within a single transformation, as you'd apparently want to do if you select "event type" to be "unequal" to the one type you don't want to transform.

Care to enlighten me (again)?

j_e_f_f_g
Established Member
Posts: 2032
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 10:48 pm
Been thanked: 358 times

Re: Bug in Midi Transform

Post by j_e_f_f_g »

Impostor wrote:

where you'd want to transform events of all types except one specific type

Maybe you have a drum part where the snare velocity is perfect but everything else needs to be increased. Easier to exclude the snare than select everything else.

Remember that there''s lots of other "rules" you can apply att the same time. So the "Unequal" rule doesn't always apply by itelf.

Give me a day or 2 to work on the tutorial, and I'll upload what I have so far. It's complicated, and I want this to be correct and complete.

Author of BackupBand at https://sourceforge.net/projects/backupband/files/
My fans show their support by mentioning my name in their signature.

Post Reply