Impulse convolver/guitarix

Programming applications for making music on Linux.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

brummer

Re: Impulse convolver/guitarix

Post by brummer »

GarryO wrote:and your wscript:
could you add (tm) to Sempron and check if you get the native flag ?
User avatar
GarryO
Established Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:30 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Impulse convolver/guitarix

Post by GarryO »

yes that did it.
wscript:

Code: Select all

  elif "AMD" in model and "Sempron(tm)" in model:
        cxxflags.append ("-march=native")
C++ flags:

Code: Select all

 -Wall -std=c++0x -O3 -DNDEBUG -march=native -mmmx -m3dnow -msse -mfpmath=sse -fomit-frame-pointer -ftree-loop-linear -ffinite-math-only -fno-math-errno -fno-signed-zeros -fstrength-reduce -pipe
User avatar
funkmuscle
Established Member
Posts: 2800
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: Impulse convolver/guitarix

Post by funkmuscle »

brummer wrote:
funkmuscle wrote:dude, by any chance could you just do that for JcGui???
No, you know, it's all free source, . . . . ., anyone could do that.
If, I would do it, then not before middle of next year.
no probs... well it's the resampled IR files that's needed. does guitarix save the resampled IR files?
brummer

Re: Impulse convolver/guitarix

Post by brummer »

GarryO wrote:yes that did it.
Thanks Garry, I've add it to our wscript :)
funkmuscle wrote:does guitarix save the resampled IR files?
No, that's on the fly now.

But zita-resampler included a resample tool, simple enough to resample what ever you like.
simply run :
resample <input file> <output file> <output rate>
or try
resample --help
User avatar
GarryO
Established Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:30 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Impulse convolver/guitarix

Post by GarryO »

Hermann, optimized and unoptimized svn720 with wscript modified still show identical CPU usage :(
Although CPU use is not a problem for me: <5% typically, up to 18% with the convolver running.

just FYI the C++ flags for the _unoptimized_ compile:

Code: Select all

 -Wall -std=c++0x -O3 -DNDEBUG 
~G.
User avatar
funkmuscle
Established Member
Posts: 2800
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: Impulse convolver/guitarix

Post by funkmuscle »

brummer, you must be getting confused between me and Garry0.. :D

I really love the Experimental preamp... Only a few issues, when you add stages, you lose power... the sound get weaker... the same with the distortion... the power gets cut in half...
brummer

Re: Impulse convolver/guitarix

Post by brummer »

@Garry

The most improvement with the --optimization flag you will see when you make extensive use of the "oversamplig" with the tubes and distortion. In that case the CPU usage could grow up to 35%, with the --optimization enabled it will stay the at 24%. :)

@funkmuscle

Don't mix the "experimental amp" with the default amp, switch the default one completely off. Add the cab sim and the tonestack to the stages and run it oversampled (4x). 8)
Add the power to the master out or to the feedforward slider.
User avatar
funkmuscle
Established Member
Posts: 2800
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: Impulse convolver/guitarix

Post by funkmuscle »

brummer wrote: @funkmuscle

Don't mix the "experimental amp" with the default amp, switch the default one completely off. Add the cab sim and the tonestack to the stages and run it oversampled (4x). 8)
Add the power to the master out or to the feedforward slider.
I run the experimental amp, amp tune at amp 1, oversample at 4x.
on the experimental amp, pregain is on, stage is on but stage 2 and 3 I lose sound.
User avatar
funkmuscle
Established Member
Posts: 2800
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: Impulse convolver/guitarix

Post by funkmuscle »

dude, the experimental preamp cabinet sounds amazing... still have to crank up the stages it which the sound gets muddy.
brummer

Re: Impulse convolver/guitarix

Post by brummer »

Have add a simple sample looper to SVN, also new is a Patch Info widget witch show the active preset name in big letters (useful on stage) .
Both are more or less only useful when you control guitarix with a Midi Foot controller. :mrgreen:
brummer

Re: Impulse convolver/guitarix

Post by brummer »

. . . and have move the tonestack selector to the main window, you can select the tone model between :
bassman
twin
princeton
jcm800
jcm2000
mlead
m2199
ac30
or default now.
User avatar
autostatic
Established Member
Posts: 1994
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 5:26 pm
Location: Beverwijk, The Netherlands
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 104 times
Contact:

Re: Impulse convolver/guitarix

Post by autostatic »

Gee, I really have to compile from git again, but I just really like the version I' m running now (0.08). For bass Guitarix is very, very usable also.
User avatar
funkmuscle
Established Member
Posts: 2800
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: Impulse convolver/guitarix

Post by funkmuscle »

just lost guitarix...

guitarix
guitarix: ../src/headers/gx_parameter.h:203: gx_gui::IntParameter& gx_gui::Parameter::getInt(): Assertion `isInt()' failed.
Aborted
brummer

Re: Impulse convolver/guitarix

Post by brummer »

@funkmuscle

Thanks for report it,
that's a side effect from assert and the debug flag :( , build it without --debug for now will solve this. I will investigate to bring it in sync with --debug in the mean time. :D

@autostatic

great to hear that guitarix is a usable Bass amp to, :D
if you like 0.08.0 I guess you will "love" the SVN version.
Special in the preset loading and convolver part are some bugs fixed in the mean time. (convolver resetting, IR-file resampling). Also the engine run now with double precision, and full denormal protected.
The new patch info widget will give you a better overview, special "on stage", on the effect side, the multibad distortion is worth a try, I mean :twisted: . You can always switch back to 0.08.0 if you didn't like the new features 8) . But, indeed, it's your decision :P .
Old presets still work with 0.10.0svn,


greats brummer

EDIT:// @funkmuscle
okay, got it, check out @728, will work with --debug again, it's a good choice to enable the debug flag, I really need to eable it by my self :oops: .
User avatar
funkmuscle
Established Member
Posts: 2800
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:30 pm
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: Impulse convolver/guitarix

Post by funkmuscle »

brummer wrote: EDIT:// @funkmuscle
okay, got it, check out @728, will work with --debug again, it's a good choice to enable the debug flag, I really need to eable it by my self :oops: .

Yeah, I did... dude, this is really sounding great. I've used both IR files and guitarix's own cab sound and both sound really good.

About JcGui for a reverb unit, Rakarrack has a reverb effect that first you convert your reverb IR file to .rvb and then use it. It's amazing so no need to rush the passing of JcGui to a new maintainer but it would be nice to have it continued...
I keep trying to post on LAD but keep getting rejected. Maybe someone can post it... :D
Post Reply