Remove Automation

MusE is a DAW for Linux with both MIDI and Audio editing. https://muse-sequencer.github.io

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz, spamatica

Post Reply
finotti
Established Member
Posts: 528
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:07 pm
Has thanked: 86 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Remove Automation

Post by finotti »

I could not find this in the manual... I've downloaded a MIDI file that came with some volume automation that I want to remove. How would I do that? (I'm on 3.0.2, compiled from source.)
Tim E. Real
Established Member
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:36 am
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 105 times

Re: Remove Automation

Post by Tim E. Real »

One way to do this is as follows:
Open each midi part in the Piano Roll Editor or Drum Editor and
click the 'Ctrl' button and add the desired controller graph to be viewed,
in this case probably the one desired is labelled "7 MainVolume".
Then use the various editing features to delete the entire graph.
For example you can simply use the 'eraser' tool to manually erase
parts of the graph. Or you can use the 'pointer' tool to select
parts of the graph, or the entire graph, then click delete or select
'Delete Events' from the menu.

Another way to do it is of course to open the parts in the plain old Event List Editor
and remove them there.

A feature of MusE is that multiple parts can be opened at once in one
single Piano Roll Editor or Drum Editor. So you can open all the midi parts at once
and erase many graphs 'wholesale' at once.
Ask, if you have any trouble there.
finotti
Established Member
Posts: 528
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:07 pm
Has thanked: 86 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Remove Automation

Post by finotti »

Thanks Tim for the great support (as always).
Tim E. Real wrote:One way to do this is as follows:
Open each midi part in the Piano Roll Editor or Drum Editor and
click the 'Ctrl' button and add the desired controller graph to be viewed,
in this case probably the one desired is labelled "7 MainVolume".
Then use the various editing features to delete the entire graph.
For example you can simply use the 'eraser' tool to manually erase
parts of the graph. Or you can use the 'pointer' tool to select
parts of the graph, or the entire graph, then click delete or select
'Delete Events' from the menu.
This was the "intuitive" way of doing and I had tried before. I tried again after reading your reply, but it really does not work in my version:

Code: Select all

$ git rev-parse HEAD
a8f5f0a6a3b28a13e31183e5400cf7b7a5859a16
It's an old version, but I was worried of trying to update in the middle of a project...
Tim E. Real wrote: Another way to do it is of course to open the parts in the plain old Event List Editor
and remove them there.
This worked! In most cases it was fine, but in one there were lots of swells, so it took a really long time to remove them all (even with Shift/Ctrl clicks).
Tim E. Real wrote: A feature of MusE is that multiple parts can be opened at once in one
single Piano Roll Editor or Drum Editor. So you can open all the midi parts at once
and erase many graphs 'wholesale' at once.
Ask, if you have any trouble there.
Ah, I did not know this! Thanks!
Tim E. Real
Established Member
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:36 am
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 105 times

Re: Remove Automation

Post by Tim E. Real »

Hm, 3.0.2 would not erase controllers? Strange.
Ah, perhaps that was before I added long-missing controller graph manipulation features.
I believe in that case the only way might have been to use the 'eraser' tool.
Selecting parts of the graph and clicking 'Delete Events' or pressing 'del' key might not have worked at all.
Checking... Yes the new features were added after 3.0.2, at 21.01.2019 in the ChangeLog.
Sorry about that.

About multiple parts in the editors:
Also I should mention that multiple parts can be opened in other editors as well, like the Event List Editor.
Simply select more than one part in the Arranger and click the appropriate menu item to open the
desired editor - Piano Roll, Drum Editor, Event List Editor etc.

You've got all the required dev packages installed , I'd recommend updating to latest git master when you get a chance.
Lots of good stuff since 3.0.2 :wink:

Tim.
finotti
Established Member
Posts: 528
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:07 pm
Has thanked: 86 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Remove Automation

Post by finotti »

Thanks, Tim!

I compiled the new version from master (3.1) and indeed, I could remove automation as you described, and all seems to be working well.

The only thing I noticed was that starting MusE automatically started a ladish session... Is that normal?
Tim E. Real
Established Member
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:36 am
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 105 times

Re: Remove Automation

Post by Tim E. Real »

When you built MusE it may have found LA(DI)SH development files installed
and therefore included our support for it, which is enabled by default.

If you type muse3 -h and see -L as an option, that means LASH support was compiled in.
You can prevent it from loading with that -L option.
You can disable it completely by turning off our ENABLE_LASH cmake option.

Actually, I always run with -L becuase sometimes it gets in the way and things start up that I didn't want to.
finotti
Established Member
Posts: 528
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:07 pm
Has thanked: 86 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Remove Automation

Post by finotti »

So do I just change the line:

Code: Select all

option ( ENABLE_LASH         "Enable LASH Audio Session Handler (or LADISH compatibility layer)"     ON)
to OFF in CMakeLists.txt and compile again?
Tim E. Real
Established Member
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:36 am
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 105 times

Re: Remove Automation

Post by Tim E. Real »

Good day!

Correct.
Tim E. Real
Established Member
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:36 am
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 105 times

Re: Remove Automation

Post by Tim E. Real »

Oops, sorry! I responded too quickly.
That is not really what you want - to edit the source files.

You can do it from the cmake command line when compiling MusE.

Like this, run from the 'build' directory (don't forget the two dots!):
"cmake -DENABLE_LASH=OFF .."
"make"
"sudo make install"

I just tried it and it works, despite that fact MusE was already compiled with various other cmake flags enabled/disabled.
Any other cmake flags which were already set are left alone.
finotti
Established Member
Posts: 528
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:07 pm
Has thanked: 86 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Remove Automation

Post by finotti »

Thanks, once again! It worked great.
Post Reply