[SOLVED] Alesis IO2 Express midi - problem

Talk about your MIDI interfaces, microphones, keyboards...

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

b4rney
Established Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat May 26, 2012 10:32 am

[SOLVED] Alesis IO2 Express midi - problem

Postby b4rney » Sat Jun 02, 2012 11:17 pm

Hi All,

I am very pleased with my first steps into linux DAW. I have installed Ubuntu Studio 12.04 and I have bought the Alesis IO2 which works great for audio.

Today I tried to use an external midi keyboard to work through the Alesis and I had nothing but problems and random occasional midi notes whenever I used the keyboard.

Jack's connector wasn't happy either and wouldn't let me connect so I used Patchage ... but still got useless random midi notes with no release (sending io2 midi into qsynth if you're interested).

My question is ... has anyone got the Alesis IO2 Express working with an external midi keyboard?

Barney
Last edited by b4rney on Thu Jun 07, 2012 11:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

wolftune
Established Member
Posts: 1302
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 7:40 pm
Location: Portland, OR
Contact:

Re: Alesis IO2 Express midi - problem

Postby wolftune » Sun Jun 03, 2012 2:13 am

I had been running everything with a separate MIDI-USB cable
you can get them for $5! see
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003KX ... B003KXEDVQ

But anyway, just for this post, I went and plugged in my keyboard to my iO2 express MIDI directly. Worked perfectly first try without even checking anything. I plugged in, started Pianoteq and played, and it worked. No set up even.
For the record, I'm using the new KXStudio 12.04.

Anyway, that cheap USB-MIDI thing is an easy fix if you can't get your iO2 to work for MIDI.

Good luck.
Aaron Wolf
Music teacher, scholar
http://wolftune.com

b4rney
Established Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat May 26, 2012 10:32 am

Re: Alesis IO2 Express midi - problem

Postby b4rney » Sun Jun 03, 2012 9:38 am

Thanks Aaron,

Thanks for doing the test. I guess the problem is outside of the Alesis then. I did notice that the midi light was constantly flashing when the lead was connected from my Yamaha Arius, is that normal?

I'm guessing it's either a dodgy cable or the midi from the yamaha is unreliable.

Thanks for the link, I already ordered that same adapter from ebay out of frustration before my post. This is my last obstacle before actually making music!

Barney

wolftune
Established Member
Posts: 1302
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 7:40 pm
Location: Portland, OR
Contact:

Re: Alesis IO2 Express midi - problem

Postby wolftune » Sun Jun 03, 2012 1:50 pm

Barney,

Just for reference, I've seen another cable that is very similar to the Amazon one but has a different look slightly and actually didn't work for me. If the eBay cable doesn't work, try the Amazon one.
Aaron Wolf
Music teacher, scholar
http://wolftune.com

Pablo
Established Member
Posts: 1269
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 9:57 pm

Re: Alesis IO2 Express midi - problem

Postby Pablo » Sun Jun 03, 2012 9:01 pm

qmidiroute (it's in the software center) has a MIDI event log. It might be useful to help diagnose the problem. Connect the midi keyboard to qmidiroute's input (via qjackctl or patchage).

slowpick
Established Member
Posts: 457
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 10:09 am

Re: Alesis IO2 Express midi - problem

Postby slowpick » Mon Jun 04, 2012 6:08 am

b4rney wrote:Hi All,

My question is ... has anyone got the Alesis IO2 Express working with an external midi keyboard?

Barney

Is your qjackctl Periods/Buffer set at 3? Should be, for usb

Try starting the computer with the unit unplugged and off.
Insert usb cable, power on, then power on midi keyboard.

If needed, vary the sequence, vary the usb ports, don't use a hub, or other usb device
when testing.

try command

a2jmidid -j default

after qjack is running,
then use the middle Midi tab in qjackctl,
cross X connect midi through ports in the alsa tab, if they exist.

start Phasex synth or Hydrogen, Yoshimi etc
connections are needed in both the alsa/midi tabs, and the audio tab.

b4rney
Established Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat May 26, 2012 10:32 am

Re: Alesis IO2 Express midi - problem

Postby b4rney » Thu Jun 07, 2012 11:00 pm

Thanks for the suggestions.

I am now running kxstudio. My new midi to usb adapter works great with a2j.

Tried the Alesis again but still no luck [SOLVED NOW]. Doesn't appear as a named device in patchage as a a2j red midi port like the midi/usb adapter does.

Appreciate all the advice. I'm happy 'cos I can play now and it didn't cost much.
:D
Barney
Last edited by b4rney on Thu Jun 07, 2012 11:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

b4rney
Established Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat May 26, 2012 10:32 am

Re: Alesis IO2 Express midi - problem

Postby b4rney » Thu Jun 07, 2012 11:07 pm

OK ... the Alesis works fine!

I think my original problem was not using a2jmidi. Then when I tried it again Jack hadn't started properly (wrong soundcard configured) so it got confused.

Just plugged it into a running system and it appeared as a named device (red midi) in patchage and it works.

Thanks for all the advice.
Barney


Return to “Computer Related Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest