Inexpensive MIDI keyboard

Talk about your MIDI interfaces, microphones, keyboards...

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Pablo
Established Member

Inexpensive MIDI keyboard

Post by Pablo »

I'm thinking of buying a M-audio Keyrig 49. I want to use it as a MIDI recording device in Rosegarden. If it had a MIDI OUT I would be rather sure it would work through my Audiophile 2496 but I think it's connected via a USB cable.
Is anyone using one of this, or is there is something similar which is known to work under Linux?
Thanx in advance.
Pablo
(64studio 2.1)
Last edited by Pablo on Sat Apr 26, 2008 10:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
nathan
Site Admin

Post by nathan »

I'm pretty interested in this too. Right now I'm also looking an M-Audio Keystation 88es USB MIDI Keyboard Controller that connects via USB. I'm a total midi controller noob, so I have no idea if I have to get another piece of hardware to interface with the computer, or what. Thoughts?
studio32

Post by studio32 »

I'm looking for a midi keyboard too, although I'd rather have a electr. piano which I can use for midi too or a midi keyboard which plays as a piano...
raboof
Established Member

Post by raboof »

nathan wrote:also looking at M-Audio Keystation 88es USB MIDI Keyboard Controller that connects via USB. I'm a total midi controller noob, so I have no idea if I have to get another piece of hardware to interface with the computer, or what.
I have the 49-key variant of that one (the 49e), which basically 'just works': you plug it into the usb port and it shows up in qjackctl et al, after which you can connect it like you would connect applications like vkeybd.

The pitch bend and modulation wheels and the octave functions all work fine out of the box. I haven't found a need for the 'advanced functions' button yet.
Pablo
Established Member

Post by Pablo »

I think I'll buy it. I posted the same question in the 64Studio forum: http://www.64studio.com/node/523. Interesting answers there too.