VST3 support in Linux?

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

User avatar
Linuxmusician01
Established Member
Posts: 680
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Holland

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby Linuxmusician01 » Thu Nov 07, 2019 12:46 pm

Almost forgot that I started this topic. Today I asked myself the same question again. Anyway, until now I do not know of any Linux native DAW or program (like Linux-Carla or LinVST) that supports Windows VST3. Or is there?

User avatar
milk
Established Member
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 9:08 am
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby milk » Thu Nov 07, 2019 2:39 pm

Bitwig and Reaper are native, i.e., they are Linux native binaries, not running through Wine.

edit: I'm an eedjit!
Last edited by milk on Fri Nov 08, 2019 2:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
they/them ta / wiki.thingsandstuff.org/Audio and related pages - a collection of mostly Linux and free links / Linux Digital Audio and Music Workstation Comparison Matrix - collaborative Google Sheet (slightly broken, no time/cpu power to fix here)

User avatar
d.healey
Established Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 8:33 pm

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby d.healey » Thu Nov 07, 2019 4:24 pm

milk wrote:Bitwig and Reaper are native, i.e., they are Linux native binaries, not running through Wine.

They don't support Windows VSTs though.
BIG SALE. 30% OFF
Libre Wave

Kott
Established Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby Kott » Thu Nov 07, 2019 10:48 pm

Linuxmusician01 wrote:Almost forgot that I started this topic. Today I asked myself the same question again. Anyway, until now I do not know of any Linux native DAW or program (like Linux-Carla or LinVST) that supports Windows VST3. Or is there?

https://github.com/osxmidi/LinVst3

User avatar
Linuxmusician01
Established Member
Posts: 680
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Holland

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby Linuxmusician01 » Fri Nov 08, 2019 12:01 pm

Kott wrote:https://github.com/osxmidi/LinVst3

Holy mackerel Batman! LinVST3. It's still in Beta, but have you any experience with it yet?

[off topic] I can't compile it I get the error:

Code: Select all

$ sudo apt-get cmake

E: Invalid operation cmake

tavasti
Established Member
Posts: 858
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:56 am
Location: Kangasala, Finland
Contact:

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby tavasti » Fri Nov 08, 2019 12:16 pm

Linuxmusician01 wrote:[off topic] I can't compile it I get the error:

Code: Select all

$ sudo apt-get cmake

E: Invalid operation cmake

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install cmake
Linux veteran & Novice musician

Hear my music at https://audiu.net/users/tawaste

Kott
Established Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:55 am
Location: Vladivostok

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby Kott » Fri Nov 08, 2019 12:18 pm

I don't use Windows VST3 in Linux. So cannot tell how well it works.

I can't compile it I get the error:

You have to install cmake

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install cmake


there is typo in readme :)

User avatar
Linuxmusician01
Established Member
Posts: 680
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Holland

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby Linuxmusician01 » Fri Nov 08, 2019 12:52 pm

Kott wrote:I don't use Windows VST3 in Linux. So cannot tell how well it works.

I can't compile it I get the error:

You have to install cmake

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install cmake


there is typo in readme :)

Thanks for the tip. As it turns out, LinVST3 needs the VST3 SDK which I don't have. I think it's great that development is going on for LinVST3 though!

User avatar
d.healey
Established Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 8:33 pm

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby d.healey » Fri Nov 08, 2019 1:54 pm

Linuxmusician01 wrote:Thanks for the tip. As it turns out, LinVST3 needs the VST3 SDK which I don't have. I think it's great that development is going on for LinVST3 though!


https://github.com/steinbergmedia/vst3sdk
BIG SALE. 30% OFF
Libre Wave

rghvdberg
Established Member
Posts: 930
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 7:11 am

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby rghvdberg » Sat Nov 09, 2019 8:25 am

Ardour 6 will most likely support vst3.
learned that yesterday on irc #ardour

User avatar
d.healey
Established Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 8:33 pm

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby d.healey » Sat Nov 09, 2019 11:46 am

rghvdberg wrote:Ardour 6 will most likely support vst3.
learned that yesterday on irc #ardour


Does that mean they are going to change Ardour's license?
BIG SALE. 30% OFF
Libre Wave

User avatar
Linuxmusician01
Established Member
Posts: 680
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Holland

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby Linuxmusician01 » Sat Nov 09, 2019 2:26 pm

rghvdberg wrote:Ardour 6 will most likely support vst3.
learned that yesterday on irc #ardour

Do you mean Ardour for Windows or Ardour for Linux?

rghvdberg
Established Member
Posts: 930
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 7:11 am

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby rghvdberg » Sat Nov 09, 2019 4:42 pm

Linuxmusician01 wrote:
rghvdberg wrote:Ardour 6 will most likely support vst3.
learned that yesterday on irc #ardour

Do you mean Ardour for Windows or Ardour for Linux?

On windows, windows vst3.
On Linux, Linux Vst3
On Mac, Mac vst3 (if that's a thing)

User avatar
JamesPeters
Established Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 6:35 pm
Contact:

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby JamesPeters » Sat Nov 09, 2019 7:00 pm

It's doubtful any DAW will include support for VST plugins made for a different OS. It can be enough hassle for the devs of a DAW to keep up with compatibility of plugins which are written for that OS, let alone including bridging to plugins meant for a different OS.

Plus there are already (third-party) solutions for bridging Windows VST to use in Linux, and they're actively maintained. It's doubtful there'd be a better solution than these whether it's "built into" the DAW or not.

Always assume that when someone says a Linux DAW can use VST or VST3, that it means Linux VST/VST3. If not--if they meant "we're going to support Windows VST in our Linux DAW"--they'd definitely specify that since they'd be the first to do it, and at a significant cost in terms of time/effort.

tavasti
Established Member
Posts: 858
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:56 am
Location: Kangasala, Finland
Contact:

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby tavasti » Sun Nov 10, 2019 8:24 am

JamesPeters wrote:It's doubtful any DAW will include support for VST plugins made for a different OS. It can be enough hassle for the devs of a DAW to keep up with compatibility of plugins which are written for that OS, let alone including bridging to plugins meant for a different OS.

This is mostly true, but LMMS is abnormal observation. It has vestige, which works only for windows VSTs. LMMS does not have support for Linux VSTs unless it is compiled with carla.
Linux veteran & Novice musician

Hear my music at https://audiu.net/users/tawaste


Return to “Plugins, Effects and Instruments”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests