Voxengo free plugin with wine-staging ?

Discuss running non-Linux applications and plugins on Linux, for example via wine

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

jonetsu
Established Member

Voxengo free plugin with wine-staging ?

Post by jonetsu »

Hello,

I'm new to this. Anyone knows about how to make a voxengo free plugin work using the current wine-staging ? I just installed wine-staging for Linux Mint 18, no problems, then I downloaded a free Voxengo plugin, the Overtone GEQ which also installed correctly. In the Program Files on the C drive in the Voxengo directory there are no .dll or .exe for a plugin. So how to run it and, when it runs, how to use it within Ardour ?

Just in case, a link to the free plugin:

http://www.voxengo.com/product/overtonegeq/
sysrqer
Established Member

Re: Voxengo free plugin with wine-staging ?

Post by sysrqer »

Choose vst option when you install it
jonetsu
Established Member

Post by jonetsu »

It turns out that the .dll on drive_c is in ../Common Files/Steinberg/VST/Voxengo

So now the 2nd part:

So how to run it and, when it runs, how to use it within Ardour ? Looks like airwave is a simple choice. I got the airwave-master, and then at compilation time:

Code: Select all

In file included from /Share/src/airwave-master/src/host/host.cpp:1:0:
/Share/src/airwave-master/src/host/host.h:7:34: fatal error: wine/windows/windows.h: No such file or directory
compilation terminated.
winegcc: g++ failed
% dpkg -L wine-staging | grep "*.h"

There's no such file included in wine-staging. Nor in this one that was also installed as part of wine-staging:

% dpkg -L wine64-development | grep *.h

Where would that windows.h file come from ? Does the wine-staging sources need to be built ?
ubuntuuser
Established Member

Post by ubuntuuser »