Only one synth...

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

finotti
Established Member

Only one synth...

Post by finotti »

This is mostly a curiosity, since I think I am pretty set with what I will do, but I'd appreciate some input anyway. (If you have a minute to spare...)

I am just starting with synths (I am a guitarist -- or so I'd like to think), so I know nothing about synths. I've been using and trying to learn ZynAddSubFX/Yoshimi. I've seen some videos and played with some presets, but I'm still in a trial and error phase. But I am really impressed!

On the other hand, I was wondering: although I am sure knowledge of one would apply to others, is there another (one) synth on which I should be focusing instead of ZynnAddSuFX? (Something "better", for some value of better...) I wanted to focus on learning one before branching out, so it would be good to make a good choice. As I said, I am really impressed with it, but it is, basically, the only one with which I spent some good time. Also, people seem to really like the U-He (free) ones, for example.

Now, keep in mind what I would like to use it for: mostly rock, with heavy influence of 70's progressive. So, I like a lot of those old vintage sounds (Moog, Hammond, Mellotron, etc.). And, although I am ashamed to admit it, I did grow up in the 80s, so I like some of those 80s keyboard sounds... But, the synths are for "keyboard parts" only (no bass, drums, guitar, etc.).

A lot of the demos I see of the synths sound great but are more for "electronic music", which makes harder to choose.

So, what would you recommend?
sysrqer
Established Member

Re: Only one synth...

Post by sysrqer »

I really like tal noisemaker, it's fairly basic but it has standard features so you can learn a bit more about synthesis and apply it to most synths. It sounds great too.
barbouze
Established Member

Post by barbouze »