VST3 support in Linux?

All your LV2 and LADSPA goodness and more.

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

User avatar
Linuxmusician01
Established Member
Posts: 684
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Holland

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby Linuxmusician01 » Sun Nov 10, 2019 12:47 pm

tavasti wrote:
JamesPeters wrote:It's doubtful any DAW will include support for VST plugins made for a different OS. It can be enough hassle for the devs of a DAW to keep up with compatibility of plugins which are written for that OS, let alone including bridging to plugins meant for a different OS.

This is mostly true, but LMMS is abnormal observation. It has vestige, which works only for windows VSTs. LMMS does not have support for Linux VSTs unless it is compiled with carla.

I guess that whole LMMS and Vesige thing got me believing that there might be a DAW that supports a plugin format from another OS. Qtractor appears to support Win32 VST's out of the box, but that's via DSSI ("Dizzy"). I hope that Carla will support it one day and that LinVST3 will keep on being developed.

I might ask the Carla dev, who recently left this forum, about Windows-VST3 support in Linux-Carla in the foreseeable future in his own forum/IRC (dunno what he's got).

rghvdberg
Established Member
Posts: 935
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 7:11 am

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby rghvdberg » Sun Nov 10, 2019 9:31 pm

https://chat.kx.studio

Oh and vst3 will likely not be in Ardpur 6.0 but a bit later

luciorgomes
Established Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 11:29 pm

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby luciorgomes » Wed Nov 13, 2019 4:03 am

https://chat.kx.studio/channel/general

MeneerJansen
12:58
Hello. Do you plan to implement Windows VST3 support into a future version of Linux-Carla? Because that would mean that we can use our paid VST's easily in Linux.

falktx
Admin
06:31
it is already implemented

MeneerJansen
10:03
Really? That's great. As of which version of the Linux version of Carla? And is it very experimental or just as good as Windows-VST2 in Linux-Carla support?

falktx
Admin
10:08
I am not sure tbh, the implementation comes from juce
let me update carla-git packages so we are sure this is all fresh

User avatar
Linuxmusician01
Established Member
Posts: 684
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Holland

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby Linuxmusician01 » Wed Nov 13, 2019 11:21 am

@luciorgomes: that's what I wanted to post, thanks for taking the trouble for me. "Meneer Jansen" is me by the way. ;)

My distro at the moment isn't new enough for the new KXStudio repository. So I can't test Windows-VST3 support in Linux-Carla yet.

luciorgomes
Established Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 11:29 pm

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby luciorgomes » Wed Nov 13, 2019 6:57 pm

Linuxmusician01 wrote:@luciorgomes: that's what I wanted to post, thanks for taking the trouble for me. "Meneer Jansen" is me by the way. ;)

My distro at the moment isn't new enough for the new KXStudio repository. So I can't test Windows-VST3 support in Linux-Carla yet.


I've tested with Spitfire LABS. Works fine. :D
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

glowrak guy
Established Member
Posts: 1383
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:37 pm

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby glowrak guy » Wed Nov 13, 2019 11:42 pm

Linuxmusician01 wrote:@luciorgomes: that's what I wanted to post, thanks for taking the trouble for me. "Meneer Jansen" is me by the way. ;)

My distro at the moment isn't new enough for the new KXStudio repository. So I can't test Windows-VST3 support in Linux-Carla yet.

Put a distro in your distro :shock: :wink:
I use vst3i of Sampletank3 and Syntronik in a bootable cd based Puppy linux
It's called Bionic64, screen shot and chat here:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 940a991293

The IK vst3's work very well in wine/Reaper, despite the fairly old wine 3.x.
But I've also added about 20 over-rides to wine, real windows .dlls
replacing the wine-provided ones, which I rename like this:

mfc42.dllDEFAULT ...so it's easy to find them and revert
in a filemanager if needed. The library tab of the winecfg config panel
is where you tell wine which of your own .dll files you've added.

Puppy Linux lets you choose creating a growable squashfilesystem savefile
in the root of your boot drive, or a connected external drive,
accessed by a bootable cd, dvd, or usbstick.
It won't interact with your system, unless you command it to.
I think 4 gig is the max for the initial savefile, but can later be resized
whenever needed in much larger choices, up to I think 32 gig each time

I have grown my savefile to 60 gig and will grow it more
as I free up disk space, and move windows plugins that now work in wine.
A Puppy utility lets you choose from a range of size increases,
which are performed at the next boot. A well defragmented hard drive
is probably good luck when having a large often used savefile

A download mirror:

http://archive.org/details/Puppy_Linux_Bionicpup64

The savefile is only created if you choose to, and is still optional at a puppy boot,
and can be encrypted for security. Puppy has many of it's own utilities,
it's package manager in this case uses
standard ubuntu bionic repos, works well, but looks nothing like synaptic,
You can use the Reaper demo free for 60 days, semi-pro license is then
$60, save a dollar a day etc The win version of Reaper in wine
for vst3 should provide good results.
The boot medium and savefile are as portable as your chosen devices,
nice to take a studion on holiday/work trips!.

This one has kernel 5.05, varies from pup to pup
Cheers

User avatar
Linuxmusician01
Established Member
Posts: 684
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Holland

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby Linuxmusician01 » Thu Nov 14, 2019 2:53 pm

luciorgomes wrote:
Linuxmusician01 wrote:@luciorgomes: that's what I wanted to post, thanks for taking the trouble for me. "Meneer Jansen" is me by the way. ;)

My distro at the moment isn't new enough for the new KXStudio repository. So I can't test Windows-VST3 support in Linux-Carla yet.


I've tested with Spitfire LABS. Works fine. :D

Are you sure that Spitfire Labs is a Windows VST3? I've looked at their webpage but can't determine if it is, nor can I find a download link...

glowrak guy
Established Member
Posts: 1383
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 8:37 pm

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby glowrak guy » Fri Nov 15, 2019 11:16 am

The whole Spitfire regimen is different from most vst sampler setups.
So a little more initial setup time. It does provide a plugin, LABS.dll,
if memory serves. It wouldn't scan correctly in my setups, so I'll come back to it
in a year. Quite the ambitious project. In the meantime, I got Sektor
at a no-brainer deal, to make up for it. A separate .wine just for SpitFire
night be helpful, then add other plugins to it once it's set up OK. And maybe
document the setup? Some youtubes

https://youtu.be/RmN2ea_OSEw <---(this one is a sounds demo,
the next ones below are for install/setup:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AbAHw_BGxLA

https://youtu.be/PZV8uY6ngU8


Cheers

luciorgomes
Established Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 11:29 pm

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby luciorgomes » Fri Nov 15, 2019 7:35 pm

Linuxmusician01 wrote:
luciorgomes wrote:
Linuxmusician01 wrote:@luciorgomes: that's what I wanted to post, thanks for taking the trouble for me. "Meneer Jansen" is me by the way. ;)

My distro at the moment isn't new enough for the new KXStudio repository. So I can't test Windows-VST3 support in Linux-Carla yet.


I've tested with Spitfire LABS. Works fine. :D

Are you sure that Spitfire Labs is a Windows VST3? I've looked at their webpage but can't determine if it is, nor can I find a download link...


There are vst2 and vst3 options:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Linuxmusician01
Established Member
Posts: 684
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Holland

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby Linuxmusician01 » Sat Nov 16, 2019 12:51 pm

luciorgomes wrote:
Linuxmusician01 wrote:
luciorgomes wrote:
I've tested with Spitfire LABS. Works fine. :D

Are you sure that Spitfire Labs is a Windows VST3? I've looked at their webpage but can't determine if it is, nor can I find a download link...


There are vst2 and vst3 options:

You sure that the .vst3 one is a Windows native VST? I know that .dll is Windows (and .so Linux), but that .vst3 extension... Sorry for asking, but I'm always very careful in concluding something. Especially since most windows-VST3i's that I known of are ones that you have to pay for. I do not know of a free Windows-VST3 yet. So before I might ever cough op dough for a Win-VST3 I'd really wanna know for sure that Carla supports (some) VST3's. Thank you very much for testing! :)

luciorgomes
Established Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 11:29 pm

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby luciorgomes » Sun Nov 17, 2019 2:41 am

Linuxmusician01 wrote:
luciorgomes wrote:
Linuxmusician01 wrote:Are you sure that Spitfire Labs is a Windows VST3? I've looked at their webpage but can't determine if it is, nor can I find a download link...


There are vst2 and vst3 options:

You sure that the .vst3 one is a Windows native VST?

Yes.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Linuxmusician01
Established Member
Posts: 684
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Holland

Re: VST3 support in Linux?

Postby Linuxmusician01 » Sun Nov 17, 2019 12:53 pm

@luciorgomes: thanks man! :)


Return to “Plugins, Effects and Instruments”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests