Carla: how to use the canvas keyboard?

Unofficial support for the KXStudio Linux distribution and applications.
More info at http://kxstudio.linuxaudio.org/

Moderators: khz, MattKingUSA

User avatar
Linuxmusician01
Established Member
Posts: 660
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Holland

Carla: how to use the canvas keyboard?

Postby Linuxmusician01 » Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:04 pm

When I load a VSTi of a synthesizer then I can play it w/ the keyboard that appears in the dialog window when you press the little wrench icon. However, I cannot play the keyboard that appears on the bottom of the patchbay canvas. How can I use the canvas keyboard?

User avatar
Linuxmusician01
Established Member
Posts: 660
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Holland

Re: Carla: how to use the canvas keyboard?

Postby Linuxmusician01 » Fri Mar 08, 2019 4:38 pm

Bump. Nobody?

User avatar
bluebell
Established Member
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:44 am
Location: Saarland & Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Carla: how to use the canvas keyboard?

Postby bluebell » Fri Mar 08, 2019 6:51 pm

Linuxmusician01 wrote:When I load a VSTi of a synthesizer then I can play it w/ the keyboard that appears in the dialog window when you press the little wrench icon. However, I cannot play the keyboard that appears on the bottom of the patchbay canvas. How can I use the canvas keyboard?


Works out of the box here with DSSI, LV2 and (Linux-) VST instruments.

The instrument that's to be controlled has to be clicked once to be "activated".
Linux – MOTU UltraLite AVB – Qtractor – https://soundcloud.com/suedwestlicht

User avatar
Linuxmusician01
Established Member
Posts: 660
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Holland

Re: Carla: how to use the canvas keyboard?

Postby Linuxmusician01 » Fri Mar 08, 2019 7:55 pm

bluebell wrote:Works out of the box here with DSSI, LV2 and (Linux-) VST instruments.

The instrument that's to be controlled has to be clicked once to be "activated".

Okay. Can you tell me where to click? See picture below:
Image
Or should I click somewhere in this window (as you can see I clicked/selected the Model Mini VST once):
Image

User avatar
bluebell
Established Member
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:44 am
Location: Saarland & Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Carla: how to use the canvas keyboard?

Postby bluebell » Fri Mar 08, 2019 8:11 pm

carla.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Linux – MOTU UltraLite AVB – Qtractor – https://soundcloud.com/suedwestlicht

User avatar
Linuxmusician01
Established Member
Posts: 660
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Holland

Re: Carla: how to use the canvas keyboard?

Postby Linuxmusician01 » Fri Mar 08, 2019 9:07 pm

bluebell wrote:
carla.png

That's weird. I have completely different elements in my Canvas in Carla-rack than you have. I have (see screenshot that I posted):
  • System (playback)
  • Carla
  • System (capture)
You have:
  • Main
  • System (playback & midi)
  • Yoshimi
There are 3 elements on your canvas out of view. Could you click on "Canvas -> Zoom -> Auto-fit"? I use Carla ver. 1.9.14 (2.0 RC4) from the KXStudio repository.

User avatar
bluebell
Established Member
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:44 am
Location: Saarland & Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Carla: how to use the canvas keyboard?

Postby bluebell » Fri Mar 08, 2019 10:36 pm

Linuxmusician01 wrote:
bluebell wrote:
carla.png

That's weird. I have completely different elements in my Canvas in Carla-rack than you have. I have (see screenshot that I posted):
  • System (playback)
  • Carla
  • System (capture)
You have:
  • Main
  • System (playback & midi)
  • Yoshimi
There are 3 elements on your canvas out of view. Could you click on "Canvas -> Zoom -> Auto-fit"? I use Carla ver. 1.9.14 (2.0 RC4) from the KXStudio repository.


I have some jack-through instances (e.g. "main"), don't worry. Yoshimi is the instrument plugin that I loaded into Carla and connected its outputs to system:playback_1 and _2.
Linux – MOTU UltraLite AVB – Qtractor – https://soundcloud.com/suedwestlicht

User avatar
Linuxmusician01
Established Member
Posts: 660
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Holland

Re: Carla: how to use the canvas keyboard?

Postby Linuxmusician01 » Sat Mar 09, 2019 2:10 pm

bluebell wrote:
Linuxmusician01 wrote:
bluebell wrote:
carla.png

That's weird. I have completely different elements in my Canvas in Carla-rack than you have. I have (see screenshot that I posted):
  • System (playback)
  • Carla
  • System (capture)
You have:
  • Main
  • System (playback & midi)
  • Yoshimi
There are 3 elements on your canvas out of view. Could you click on "Canvas -> Zoom -> Auto-fit"? I use Carla ver. 1.9.14 (2.0 RC4) from the KXStudio repository.


I have some jack-through instances (e.g. "main"), don't worry. Yoshimi is the instrument plugin that I loaded into Carla and connected its outputs to system:playback_1 and _2.

Okay. Hmmm, still doesn't work for me... :?:

User avatar
bluebell
Established Member
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:44 am
Location: Saarland & Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Carla: how to use the canvas keyboard?

Postby bluebell » Sat Mar 09, 2019 3:22 pm

Please post a screenshot of your canvas with Yoshimi loaded.
Linux – MOTU UltraLite AVB – Qtractor – https://soundcloud.com/suedwestlicht

User avatar
Linuxmusician01
Established Member
Posts: 660
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Holland

Re: Carla: how to use the canvas keyboard?

Postby Linuxmusician01 » Sat Mar 09, 2019 3:45 pm

bluebell wrote:Please post a screenshot of your canvas with Yoshimi loaded.

Here it is, I tried to make the connections as much the same as yours as I could:
Image

User avatar
bluebell
Established Member
Posts: 1137
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:44 am
Location: Saarland & Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Carla: how to use the canvas keyboard?

Postby bluebell » Sat Mar 09, 2019 3:54 pm

The keyboard is dimmed, that might indicate that it's not active.

Set Carla to "Multiple Clients" in Configure Carla -> Engine -> Process Mode
Then restart Carla and try again, maybe with yoshimi instead of Yoshimi-Multi, although both work here.
Linux – MOTU UltraLite AVB – Qtractor – https://soundcloud.com/suedwestlicht

User avatar
Linuxmusician01
Established Member
Posts: 660
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 2:38 pm
Location: Holland

Re: Carla: how to use the canvas keyboard?

Postby Linuxmusician01 » Sat Mar 09, 2019 4:05 pm

bluebell wrote:The keyboard is dimmed, that might indicate that it's not active.

Set Carla to "Multiple Clients" in Configure Carla -> Engine -> Process Mode
Then restart Carla and try again, maybe with yoshimi instead of Yoshimi-Multi, although both work here.

Did that and now it looks like this (notice that the "Carla" screen element is different now):
Image
Tried some other process modes of the engine too to no avail. Thanks for the help so far! :)

(going to visit a friend now)


Return to “KXStudio Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest