Linux Audio Programmers: LMMS needs your help

Programming applications for making music on Linux.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

diizy
Established Member

Linux Audio Programmers: LMMS needs your help

Post by diizy »

Hi, I'm a LMMS developer.

So, like many of you have probably seen, LMMS has went through some huge steps forward this year. When comparing the difference between 0.4.15 and our latest stable release 1.0.2, it's pretty huge. And our next release, 1.1, is going to be even more amazing.

But now, LMMS faces again challenges... we have a dire need of new developers and contributors. There's just so much potential in LMMS - I might be biased in saying this, but I feel it fills a niche in Linux Audio that no other open source DAW even attempts to fill. I think other Linux Audio softwares such as Ardour, Qtractor, Carla, Zyn, LinuxSampler etc. are great, and they have a very unique modular ecosystem around them, which is also great. But I feel that LMMS provides an easy gateway to Linux Audio for many, and even more, it provides a gateway to open source audio for people on Windows/Mac, possibly even getting some to migrate to Linux as a result.

So, I'd like to ask anyone who has any knowledge of programming, or of Linux audio, to consider if they would be willing to contribute some time to LMMS development. It doesn't have to be much, even small things help, like fixing some bugs in our audio backends or such. And if you don't have time to dive into our codebase, then maybe there are other ways you can contribute - like, for instance, consulting and helping with implementations of new features, like LV2 support, LinuxVST support, etc. - if you have experience of those formats, you could help us just by making your knowledge available to us.