Monitor Management Software

What other apps and distros do you use to round out your studio?

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

bwilkinson
Established Member

Monitor Management Software

Post by bwilkinson »

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here, and tried this in both the Ardour forum as well as the Planet CCRMA mailing list, with no luck. I'm hoping I can find someone with interest.

I am a hobbyist, love mixing music, but not a recording engineer by any stretch of the imagination. However, I am slowly building a recording studio for my own addiction fix for enjoyment. One thing that I found that doesn't seem to exist is a software based powerful monitor management. Matter of fact, there is only ONE hardware based hardware management product that meets what I am looking for.

Specifically, what I need is this:

(1) Ability to switch from one set of monitors to another, with the push (or click) of a button.
(2) Ability to set, internally to the program, volumes to normalize monitors to each other.
(3) Ability to push low frequencies to a "sub out" channel.
(4) Ability to program this "sub out" channel with both a low pass frequency as well as a signal level for each set of monitors
(5) Ability to turn sub on and off, no matter which monitors I am using, at the push of a button.

Ideally, this would be able to be minimized to a ribbon either on the top or side of the screen, with a vu meter for output, a slider for master volume, and buttons for each set of monitors as well as sub on/off.

The only hardware based solution I have found is the Dangerous Music Monitor ST, at a cost of $1900. It also has other features, which while I admit would be nice, are not needed for me. I simply cannot afford that.