Difference Between QJackCtl, Gladish, etc and how to configure? (total noob)

What other apps and distros do you use to round out your studio?

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

mikey187210
Established Member

Difference Between QJackCtl, Gladish, etc and how to configure? (total noob)

Post by mikey187210 »

Hey all,

Sorry for being such a n00b, but I can't seem to figure this out on my own despite several days of research. I'm trying to get a handle on how to properly configure Jack Audio and what certain things are for.

QJackCtl /Jack Audio Connection Kit is the app that my DAW (reaper, using wineasio) opens up when I ask to configure my audio. It seems to have two buttons that basically do the same thing: The "Connections" button, and the "Patchbay". The only difference I can see is that the Patchbay can save configurations? Also, do I actually need to click that play button to "start transport" to hear my audio, or is that for something else?

Also - the Gladish/Ladish apps, where you're able to configure a "Studio" and "Rooms". Do these do the same thing as the QJackCtl, but in a more elegant way? If not, what is the difference, and should I be using both? I get the impression there are many front ends for the same final purpose of configuring Jack.

Also ... say I use Gladish to configure a Studio ... does doing so automatically deactivate the QJackCtl patchbay, or should I do that myself, and should I expect to see changes reflected in it?

Also, is there a way to properly name hardware inputs/outputs? The names/numbers are so confusing, and I'd prefer to be able to see stuff like "Scarlett 2i2 Input L / Scarlett 2i2 Input R" and other devices just for my own piece of mind.