Csound

What other apps and distros do you use to round out your studio?

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

SR
Established Member

Csound

Post by SR »

Does anyone here use csound? How do you typically use it and what is your opinion of it?
cunnilinux
Established Member

Re: Csound

Post by cunnilinux »

SR wrote:Does anyone here use csound?
in short: yes.
SR wrote:How do you typically use it
well, i'm planning to do the entire job with csound driven via hardware midi controllers.
a huge work in progress. i hope someday it will be relatively finished, and a public release is going to happen.
SR wrote:and what is your opinion of it?
very powerful thing with very stupid oldschool syntax :D
StudioDave
Established Member

Post by StudioDave »

SR wrote:Does anyone here use csound? How do you typically use it and what is your opinion of it?
I've been using it since about 1989.

I have no "typical" way of using it. I've used it in text mode and with GUIs. Some of my recent Csound music is on this site:

http://linux-sound.org/ardour-music.html

I think it's fantastic.

dp
becks
Established Member

Post by becks »

SR wrote:Does anyone here use csound? How do you typically use it and what is your opinion of it?
i use csound. especially in combination with puredata. i use pd for visual and realtime params change (see csoundapi for puredata)

my opinion? the best synth ever, but not user friendly
cunnilinux
Established Member

Post by cunnilinux »

/me wrote:very powerful thing with very stupid oldschool syntax :D
played with supercollider a bit. seems like i'm going to switch... :)
studio32

Post by studio32 »

What is a good place to start? Instructional tutorials/video

Are there examples of instruments etc. which you can use easily as example in csound?
StudioDave
Established Member

Post by StudioDave »

studio32 wrote:What is a good place to start? Instructional tutorials/video...Are there examples of instruments etc. which you can use easily as example in csound?