favorite midi sequencer?

Do you typeset your scores on Linux? Share your thoughts, tips, and tricks here.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

ruhtranayr

favorite midi sequencer?

Post by ruhtranayr »

my two favs are rosegarden and seq24

i *used* to use rosegarden...but honestly the new version's zoom wheels annoy me. i've been using seq24 for the past six months..... i like it but i don't think it supports pitch bend(?) no problem tho, i just link the soft synth to jack-rack running AM pitch shift... doing it this way you get a much broader pitch bend than you would using pitch bend in rosegarden, but this is also massively time consuming, having to record it separately and match the time in ardour. so, you have to be selective about what you are pitch bending. i honestly feel like my productivity has plummeted since i migrated to seq24.....:( with seq 24 i can make some pretty tight grooves but they lack that full bodied composition feel that i got with my tracks using rosegarden.

with rosegarden, i like having the open space to create what i want. this never-ending-time-line where i can utilize copy/paste to flush out a nice composition quickly.... my gripe with rosegarden is it's midi device management is rediculously sloppy, it's a bit too complicated to loop something and it's wayyy too crash-happy. other than that.......rosegarden is exactly that...a garden of roses... anything can happen, as long as you avoid the thorns :P.....

seq24 its constantly looping...which is kind of nice, it keeps me organized, and my beats nice and tight and concise. with such a big love for detroit techno its rather ironic how i despise repetition in my own tracks...but song editor makes up for that easily. yes, i can copy/paste in seq24... but it is rather stubborn about deleting loops.