Arch Linux system optimization for Audio Work (SuperCollider/Pure Data) ?

Optimize your system for ultimate performance.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

uptick

Arch Linux system optimization for Audio Work (SuperCollider/Pure Data) ?

Post by uptick »

Just wondering if anyone have experience making music with Arch Linux and how to best setup/optimize the system for music production?

I've only used Arch Linux for regular every day stuff in the past, so I'm a complete novice when it comes to the audio department. But, lately, I've been really interested in learning SuperCollider and Pure Data, so I figured I would ask here for some advice on how to properly set up everything.

I did read through https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Professional_audio but are all these steps necessary and vital to increasing performance and decreasing latency? How much difference do they make? :P

Anyways, as a newbie, I would love to hear about your own experience and what you would consider to be the most important settings when it comes to fine tuning your Arch Linux for music production. :mrgreen:
Jack Winter
Established Member

Re: Arch Linux system optimization for Audio Work (SuperCollider/Pure Data) ?

Post by Jack Winter »

IMO, install a rt kernel and the realtime-privileges package, and use rtprio to raise the priority of your soundcard. Take much of the other rest of the advice with a pinch of salt.. Yes it might be useful to change the cpu powersave governor too. Start with that and then ask for more advice if you have any specific problems.
Reaper/KDE/Archlinux. i7-2600k/16GB + i7-4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, WA273-EQ, 2 x WA-412, ADL-600, Tegeler TRC, etc 8) For REAPER on Linux information: https://wiki.cockos.com/wiki/index.php/REAPER_for_Linux
uptick

Post by uptick »

Thank you so much Jack,
By the way, what's a good latency to shoot for?
What range would you consider bad, average, good, excellent?