Xruns with Windows VSTs

Optimize your system for ultimate performance.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Dragonflag

Xruns with Windows VSTs

Post by Dragonflag »

Hi. I'm a noob when it comes to Linux audio and I could really use some help eliminating Xruns. I have tried searching for this topic but haven't had much luck.

The only issue I have right now is with Windows VST's (some of which I really need), both 32 and 64 bit. When I load one in Carla, it immediately causes a lot of Xruns and keeps doing so, no matter how light or heavy they are (or how much DSP load they cause). All the Linux native plugins work just fine, no Xruns. Could someone point me to some things I might attempt? I'm pretty much stumped. I have tried increasing buffer size and periods/buffer and it seems to lower the xruns a little, but doesn't eliminate them. Even with settings that cause unusable latency I still get xruns.

My audio interface is Behringer UMC204HD. I'm running a Kubuntu with lowlatency kernel and I've done all the preparations for doing serious audio work.

I would appreciate any help.
troathscream
Established Member

Re: Xruns with Windows VSTs

Post by troathscream »

From synaptic package manager install Festige, works great for me. I to Keep having Xruns with Addictive drums in Carla, if i use Festige i have none!

Grtz
Metal for the Devil!!!!
mk1967
Established Member

Post by mk1967 »

I have made very good experiences with AVLinux 2017 and 2018 http://www.bandshed.net/avlinux/ and Windows VSTs using Carla :!:
asbak
Established Member

Post by asbak »

Users have different requirements.

- For many hobbyists and dabblers, having the occasional xrun whilst running at high audio latencies is a win & a result. For them, this means that things are "working".

- For musicians who want instruments & fx to work w. low latencies and who may want to or need to play live, having constant xruns and crashes makes things practically useless.