Need some help getting my interface set up

Optimize your system for ultimate performance.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

mark swanson
Established Member

Need some help getting my interface set up

Post by mark swanson »

Ok, I am a total newbie to Ubuntu Studio, I have it set up and running well, I am trying to get it to show my interface, and get it set up right. It seems quite daunting to me! I have two interfaces to use here, the M-Audio Fast Track Ultra and the simpler M-track. I have been working mainly with the Fast Track Ultra (FTU). My computer was recognizing it, but after shutting down and rebooting, now it can't find it at all. I must have messed something up.
I found a webpage that helped quite a bit, http://heikki.ketoharju.info/2013/03/li ... rackultra/ and I was able to get into Alsamixer and make the changes suggested there...but after a save a reboot now the computer doesn't see it.
There is a script mentioned on that page, I tried to run it and got errors "invalid device number" or some such thing.
It seems I am over my head, and the fact that I am so new to Linux and all of that doesn't help. It looks like I need to be helped along here, anyone want to jump in? Thanks in advance. I don't think I am as dumb as I sound.
I am reading everything I can find about it and trying things when I think I understand what to do but it sure would be nice if I had something that could educate me about Jack, Pulse Audio, Cadence and everything that seems to be confusing me right now! it seems daunting.
thetotalchaos
Established Member

Re: Need some help getting my interface set up

Post by thetotalchaos »