Linux beginner; musician wanting to know where to start.

Post fully complete "how to" guides and tutorials here. This is a great place to get feedback on stuff you might put in the wiki.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

leokin
Established Member

Linux beginner; musician wanting to know where to start.

Post by leokin »

I'm new to Linux, running Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric. It's a whole new world here, and I love the idea of getting away from Windows!

I'm a jazz musician. I've downloaded and installed Ardour, Audacity, Jack,....etc. It has occurred to me I need some help. Like the basics of setting up hardware, interfaces between my guitar, mic, cd player, etc. might be a good start. Then I can focus on obtaining and learning to use the proper software.

I would like to set loops to practice with, and know how to record a session w/myself, and/or with other musicians. I've got several guitars and amps, a Boss RC-2 loop pedal, an RP80 Digitech multi effects pedal (until I figure out wht sounds I want, at which time I'll get dedicated pedals), a cheap $80 mic, good earphones, and a few other odds and ends.

Any help would be much appreciated.

~Leo
Capoeira
Established Member

Re: Linux beginner; musician wanting to know where to start.

Post by Capoeira »

read the wiki
first thing you wanna learn is to use jack (qjackctl)....that's the heart of linux audio and where you make the connections
slowpick
Established Member

Post by slowpick »

youtube is also a good option, there are videos some starting with basic configurations,
others are longer and cover common usage. Go here, and follow the sidebar videos

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n5BzyN95NfQ
autostatic
Established Member

Post by autostatic »

Hello Leo,