Hello world

Why not tell us a little bit about yourself? Welcome to the community!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Sandsound
Established Member

Hello world

Post by Sandsound »

Hi all

Great idea this site 8)

I been using Linux to make music for about three years now, started with LMMS, Ardour, Rosegarden and Muse but fell in love with EnergyXT2 and have been using it since the first beta.
I work as a web-designer and have played in a few bands (drums, guitar, bass and keyboards) and I hope to be able to make a living with my music one day, but who doesn't.
I'm lucky to have a very understanding husband who doesn't mind having a "few" instruments in our living-room, although he did get a troubling look in his eyes when I came home with my new e-drums :) but as I explained to him... to me it's like having a fine piece of art on the wall.

I'll be posting some pictures of my setup later, and look forward to be a part of this great initiative.
I don't know much about computers, but I have learned a few tricks along the way, and I would love to give something back to the Linux community.

Best wishes from Denmark
Sandie
thorgal
Established Member

Re: Hello world

Post by thorgal »

Ciao Sandie,

Welcome here :)
You are from Denmark ? me too, sort of. Check my place : http://linuxmusicians.com/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=101 (pictures are a bit truncated in phpBB3). I stay in Bagsværd, 15km from downtown Copenhagen. I was on a sabbatical year, time during which I built up my home studio and composed music. I am not yet done with my music project but financial debts crept up so I had to resume my work at ... (censored ;) ) for a decent income. So the pace of my project has slowed down quite a lot but I am on it nonetheless.

So you got an e-drum ? would love to see that. For my drumming, I use a VSTi called Addictive Drums by XLN Audio that I run via dssi-vst on my linux DAW. It is truly excellent! I am sure that combined to an e-drum, you would fool your audience :)
khz