Hello! Jon here

Why not tell us a little bit about yourself? Welcome to the community!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

ithesound
Established Member

Hello! Jon here

Post by ithesound »

Hello,

New adventure. I have been doing sound in Mac and Windows for the last 20 years and I finally decided to leave the mainstream and transition to Linux. The learning curve is proving daunting, and my favorite software to create amazing sounds seems to be a no-go for now (Kontakt - Omnisphere). I am having some success using LinVST for some plugins, but the DSP load is too much to be usable.

I will be roaming around the forum to see if I can find good solutions to use music libraries, pianos, and cool pads, which I use intensively in my music.

It is a pleasure to be in good company around here :)

iTheSound (Jon)
bluebell
Established Member

Re: Hello! Jon here

Post by bluebell »

ithesound wrote:Hello,

New adventure. I have been doing sound in Mac and Windows for the last 20 years and I finally decided to leave the mainstream and transition to Linux. The learning curve is proving daunting, and my favorite software to create amazing sounds seems to be a no-go for now (Kontakt - Omnisphere). I am having some success using LinVST for some plugins, but the DSP load is too much to be usable.

I will be roaming around the forum to see if I can find good solutions to use music libraries, pianos, and cool pads, which I use intensively in my music.

It is a pleasure to be in good company around here :)

iTheSound (Jon)
Welcome to the Secret Mainstream. Don't tell others! :mrgreen:

You might find the following synths interesting:
- Yoshimi or ZynaddsubFX for great pads
- Hexter or Dexed for DX7 sounds including good e-piano sounds
- Linuxsampler and the SalamanderGrandPianoV3 for a good grand piano sound
- Helm for experimental stuff

Linux – MOTU UltraLite AVB – Qtractor – http://suedwestlicht.saar.de/

ithesound
Established Member

Re: Hello! Jon here

Post by ithesound »