Hi from Italy!

Why not tell us a little bit about yourself? Welcome to the community!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Rainmak3r
Established Member

Hi from Italy!

Post by Rainmak3r »

Hi all,

I'm Lorenzo, and I'm writing from beautiful Napoli, in the South of Italy.

I've always been a music lover, especially hard rock, metal of all kinds and progressive: I've been playing guitar for almost 25 years, but never consistently enough to be REALLY good I'm afraid :wink: My real hidden love, though, is late romantic symphonic music: from my absolute favourite Tchaikovsky, to Rimsky-Korsakov, Dvorak, Liszt and others. Needless to say, whenever rock and orchestras meet somehow, I'm usually in heaven!

In my late teen years I tried playing with some of the existing tools to create my own music. I still remember my first scores using Deluxe Music on Amiga, and how I then switched to Cakewalk when moving to a Windows machine. I wrote a lot at the time (I still have most of those MIDI files in a folder) but rarely in a very structured form: meaning the vast majority of the compositions where ideas I had that never fully developed, apart for a few cases. For a very short time I tinkered with Sibelius, to work on an idea I wanted to develop as a Symphonic Poem, but unfortunately that didn't last much due to lack of time. When I finally switched to Linux I started playing with Rosegarden for a little bit (which at the time where the closest thing I could find to Cakewalk), before study and work got the best of me and I had to put that side of me on a hold.