How do

Why not tell us a little bit about yourself? Welcome to the community!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

sfgreenwood

How do

Post by sfgreenwood »

Hello from sunny Yorkshire!

I'm not quite new to recording as I have been doing it sporadically for getting on for 35 years with an assortment of machines and computers but I have taken the plunge into using Linux for it semi-seriously in the last few years as I've been using it fairly exclusively for about ten years and working with it for 20.

Current setup is a 2014 Thinkpad X1 Carbon (eBay clearance bargain and seemingly solid and very nice to look at) running Xubuntu with the KXStudio repos. Sound device is a Behringer QX1204USB which is happy enough as a single track recording device but less so running multiple sequencer tracks or VCVRack, which is pretty much why I'm here - looking for some advice on either tuning for running multiple sequencers in Ardour/Mixbus or for alternative software and hardware.
tavasti
Established Member

Re: How do

Post by tavasti »

sfgreenwood wrote:Sound device is a Behringer QX1204USB which is happy enough as a single track recording device but less so running multiple sequencer tracks or VCVRack, which is pretty much why I'm here - looking for some advice on either tuning for running multiple sequencers in Ardour/Mixbus or for alternative software and hardware.
That is mixer with usb interface. Meaning, you can connect plenty of sources, and mix them together, and output to amp or to usb. With that device you can't record multiple tracks separately at the same time, but all your source will be mixed together. Fine for capturing live session, with someone mixing it well enough on record time, but afterwards there is not much you can do.

Check for example here for suitable devices https://www.thomann.de/gb/usb_audio_interfaces.html