Hello Everyone!

Why not tell us a little bit about yourself? Welcome to the community!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

galaxitor
Established Member

Hello Everyone!

Post by galaxitor »

Greetings from Porto, Portugal!

I studied piano and organ when I was a little one till my teenage years and now, more than twenty years later, older and (barely) wiser, my interest for music came back when I discovered the fascinating world of software synthesizers (ZynAddSubFX, Yoshimi, amSynth, etc) in Linux.

I expect to learn a lot from your technical wizadry. :-)
folderol
Established Member

Re: Hello Everyone!

Post by folderol »

Welcome here :)

It is a shock when you see how much has changed what you weren't looking isn't it?

Oh, and a tip I was once given a good few years ago by Larry Adler was that it is easy to be fooled by intense and dramatic sounds. When you compose a new tune, play it on the simplest instrument you have. if it still sounds good you're OK!
The Yoshimi guy {apparently now an 'elderly'}
galaxitor
Established Member

Post by galaxitor »

Hi folderol
It is a shock when you see how much has changed what you weren't looking isn't it?
Oh, definitely. It seems it was only yesterday when I was an 8-years-old and my parents were buying me my first electronic piano, while I was ogling the much cooler looking synthesizer next to it (an Yamaha DX7, I believe). Of course, I ended up with the boring electronic piano (a Casio Tonebank, I forgot which model was). Nowadays whe have much more advanced stuff at cheaper prices, but I decided to save money and continuing to use my also ancient-but-still-reliable Yamaha PSR-SQ16. I am having trouble connecting it to my Linux box but I will talk about that in the appropriate forum.
When you compose a new tune, play it on the simplest instrument you have. if it still sounds good you're OK!