windows refugee from NYC

Why not tell us a little bit about yourself? Welcome to the community!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

braintree12
Established Member

windows refugee from NYC

Post by braintree12 »

Hi, all. Detroit-ish 8 bit-ish techno producer/composer (bedroom variety) here. I used Cubase on Windows for a decade or so, until one morning, a popup appeared telling me that W10 was ready to install on my system. This was such a disgusting violation of trust that the next thing I did, after removing the W10 malware, was start looking for a Linux-based PC workstation. I'm not a programmer. I found a PC with a PCI slot so I could install the RME HDSP 9632 soundcard (incredibly, still in production - pricy though). The ALSA driver package includes an RME Totalmix clone (kudos to the reverse engineer from 15 years ago) so I can mix multiple channels of audio, ADAT and sp/dif. All very stable.
I use Ubuntu Studio and Ardour and have found both to be reliable but I am still gradually figuring out what works and doesn't work. What mostly doesn't work are certain plugins that crash Ardour. Generally, generic-looking GUIs are OK and anything with gradients is a ticking time bomb. So far in the YAY column are a-fluidsynth, LSP sampler, Loomer Aspect (loads slowly but doesn't crash), and Helm, and in the NAY column are Harrison plugins, Calf, samplv1, Tracktion BioTek (blam -- instant annihilation).