New here, Distro suggestions?

Why not tell us a little bit about yourself? Welcome to the community!

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

hucasys
Established Member

New here, Distro suggestions?

Post by hucasys »

Hi all, I'm new here and posted in the distro section because I'm having a bit of trouble with my KXstudio and would like to find options. More details onj the post, thanks all in advance!.

Btw: I am guitarist/composer.
English Guy
Established Member

Re: New here, Distro suggestions?

Post by English Guy »

I use Debian stable which is rock solid and has a long shelf life. I use the KXStudio repositories to get the latest and greatest audio software and also get a good performance with the Liquorix kernel. Like you I am a guitarist and writer; I work mainly with ardour and hydrogen. My setup is good for someone who wants to work with their system rather than play with it.
MattKingUSA
Moderation Services Senior Administrator

Post by MattKingUSA »

I am running ubuntu studio.

-Matt :D

Luc
Established Member

Post by Luc »

hucasys wrote:Hi all, I'm new here and posted in the distro section because I'm having a bit of trouble with my KXstudio and would like to find options.
What distro do you currently use, and what kind of trouble are you having?
sysrqer
Established Member

Post by sysrqer »

I've used xubuntu, manjaro, arch, funtoo, kubuntu, and I'm currently running neon. I loved funtoo but compiling everything on an old laptop in the tropics is too hot.

You can make music on pretty much any distro. For easy of use just pick something that can use the kxstudio repos, doesn't make much difference which. They are all the same underneath, more or less, so just pick one with a release system that suits you (rolling like arch or LTS like ubuntu) and that has what you need in its repositories. If you are inclined towards Freedom side of things then you might take that in to consideration.
sysrqer
Established Member

Post by sysrqer »

beck wrote: