A Different Perspective

Completely and utterly unrelated.

Moderators: raboof, MattKingUSA, khz

folderol
Established Member

A Different Perspective

Post by folderol »

Sometimes it takes just a very small change for you to see something familiar in a totally new way. In my case, the 'familiar' is one of my favourite patches of woodland (Denge Wood) that I've been walking regularly for over 15 years.

I've settled into a sort of routine when I go there of going more or less in a circle but varying the exact paths I take. There is just one section of bridleway that I always walk because it is the only practical one if I'm to avoid going over my own tracks. I also tend to regard it as rather boring. It is on the Eastern side of a wide valley, dead straight and near the top, but lined quite thickly with trees so you don't really get to see the valley.

Typically the walk takes me 2-3 hours, and I start with the above mentioned section. Again I usually start at around 9:30 in the morning so that at the end of my walk I'm ready for a short drive to lunch at a nearby pub.

One Sunday in June I had been visiting friends, and decided that rather than use the motorways I'd go home via the back roads. This meant I would go right past Denge Wood. Also, after several days of miserable dull weather it was brilliant sunshine that day. On a whim I decided to have a walk. It was about 6:30 in the evening, so with clear skies I knew I'd have plenty of time.

There really must have been something strange in the air, because for some reason I also decided to walk round the opposite way to normal. Although approaching places from the 'wrong' direction, I know the woods well and there were no surprises. As I walked the sun got lower, and a refreshing breeze picked up. The birds and animals began to settle and there was that pleasant evening quietness.