Best practices for processing live recordings in Ardour5

Support & discussion regarding DAWs and MIDI sequencers.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

ericjmcd
Established Member

Best practices for processing live recordings in Ardour5

Post by ericjmcd »

I'm new to Ardour 5 and have been recording some friends jamming on my garage with 2-3 vocal tracks, stereo drums, keyboard, guitar, and bass. I'd like to mix the 2-3 hour recordings into individual mp3's to share.

Is there a preferred way to do this? e.g. make new regions for each song and then export individually? Somehow split the session into multiple sessions for each song?

Thanks for any help!

Eric
Eric
Ubuntu 18.04, Jack, Tascam us-16x08
Garage Band Leader
Piano/Guitar/Drums
Michael Willis
Established Member

Re: Best practices for processing live recordings in Ardour5

Post by Michael Willis »

I have been playing with a small jazz band, and started recording recently. I try to keep the workflow really simple while recording, since we only meet during lunch time once a week. I wire up the mics, create an Ardour session with corresponding tracks, hit the record buttons, and then leave the laptop alone for our whole session. Afterward I listen to the whole thing, decide which pieces sound good, do some minor processing (mostly just reverb), and export each piece by setting the start and end markers.

Ardour won't directly export mp3, but follow these instructions to make it use LAME to do so:
https://discourse.ardour.org/t/looking- ... p3/88716/4

Either that or load your exported WAV or FLAC file in Audacity and export to MP3 from there.

You can listen to some of my recordings here: https://soundcloud.com/user-201997735 - anything with "improv" in the name is a recording of the lunch time jazz band.

Edit: I can't necessary claim that this is "best practices", I'm still learning, but I think it would work fine for simple garage band recordings.
finotti
Established Member

Post by finotti »