Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Support & discussion regarding DAWs and MIDI sequencers.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

arpegadream
Established Member

Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Post by arpegadream »

I'm new to all of this, and still learning Linux, I've made some progress over the few months, but I don't know what is going on.

It took some doing, but I did have Ardour recording and playing back my electric from my amp, but when I plugged in my headphones in my front jack of the computer (Linux Mint on ASUS Z97 Pro board) sound wouldn't come out but the hum. Then I unplugged and it took a reboot to get back to normal.

I have jack running but I don't even remember all the particulars to jack.

This is a bit overwhelming. All I really want to do is record my playing so that I can remember things I came up with.
arpegadream
Established Member

Re: Ardour: Now output sound upon playback of track Mint

Post by arpegadream »

I just tried exporting to FLAC and playing it back with Clementine and no sound comes out, but I can see the waveform that a track WAS recorded in Ardour.

I'm lost and there is so much to learn with this software, right now I wish I had something easier to use for now.
Linuxmusician01
Established Member

Post by Linuxmusician01 »

arpegadream wrote: [...] I did have Ardour recording and playing back [...] I have jack running [...] This is a bit overwhelming. All I really want to do is record my playing so that I can remember things I came up with.
You don't necessarily have to use Ardour and/or Jack. Ardour is a full blown digital audio workstation (DAW) and can be very intimidating and complex. You can try with Audacity first. I've no experience w/ Ardour but exporting something to MP3 if you indeed succeeded to record something should be easily possible: I'm convinced somebody on this forum will help you.