Live Keyboard rig - Carla and Jack_Mixer

Support & discussion regarding DAWs and MIDI sequencers.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Breezy
Established Member

Live Keyboard rig - Carla and Jack_Mixer

Post by Breezy »

Hi all,

I've learned so much from this board. This is my first time posting. Hope you can help.

I'm trying to setup a keyboard rig for live use running AV Linux 2017 on a Lenovo Thinkpad X230.

I have a MIDI keyboard where I can send on up to 8 MIDI channels simultaneously and have 8 sliders for MIDI CC messages. This works well for setting up layers and keyboard splits. I can also set values for various CC parameters.

Output is to a NI Komplete Audio 6 Interface.

I have a bunch of SFZ, SF2 and GIG files hosted in Carla. All this is working great.

I set up the Calf reverb plugin, and used Jack_Mixer to set send levels and route the signals.

Jack_Mixer also allows the option of assigning MIDI CC numbers to control volume of the FX sends. This is great, as I need different reverb settings depending on which patch I'm playing within the SF2 instrument .

Here's my problem; those CC settings are saved in the Jack_Mixer XML file, but they don't load. When I close everything down and then load it all up again all volume and balance controls for the sends revert to CC0. And I can't edit them manually; I have to go through each one and have Jack_Mixer relearn them by moving a slider.

If I launch Jack_Mixer from terminal I get;
"Cannot load LASH python bindings, you want them unless you enjoy manual jack plumbing each time you use this app
Cannot load Python bindings for GConf, your preferences will not be preserved across jack_mixer invocations"

Can anyone help? Is there an easier way to do this?

Many thanks

Breezy
bluebell
Established Member

Re: Live Keyboard rig - Carla and Jack_Mixer

Post by bluebell »