[SOLVED] Jack Transport and command line

Support & discussion regarding DAWs and MIDI sequencers.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

Post Reply
CrocoDuck
Established Member
Posts: 1133
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 6:12 pm
Been thanked: 17 times

[SOLVED] Jack Transport and command line

Post by CrocoDuck »

Hi cool people!

I need to write a script to help me out in measuring audio equipment. I need to start the jack transport from command line. I have tried this:

Code: Select all

jack_transport
but I don't like it. In facts, that command will open an interface where I can type the instructions. I don't really know how to include that in a script. I would like something like this:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

fancy_command_for_transport start # to start the transport
fancy_command_for_transport stop # to stop the transport
fancy_command_for_transport rewind # to rewind the transport
Is there any utility like that? If not, there is any way I can use jack_transport inside a script?
Last edited by CrocoDuck on Mon Jun 15, 2015 6:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
CrocoDuck
Established Member
Posts: 1133
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 6:12 pm
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Jack Transport and command line

Post by CrocoDuck »

Wow! Brilliant! :D Seems to work very good. I am gonna experiment around this for a little and report if issues... or mark as solved!
merlyn
Established Member
Posts: 1392
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:13 pm
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 247 times

Re: [SOLVED] Jack Transport and command line

Post by merlyn »

The post with the solution to this has been deleted.

To use jack_transport in a script you can do this :

Code: Select all

echo play|jack_transport
Post Reply