Live performance with Midi keyboard

Support & discussion regarding DAWs and MIDI sequencers.

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

sethwid
Established Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 12:07 pm
Location: Bruchköbel, Germany

Re: Live performance with Midi keyboard

Post by sethwid »

Hi progwolff,

I tried to install Performer but had this issue:

Code: Select all

#git clone git@github.com:progwolff/performer.git
Cloning into 'performer'...
Warning: Permanently added the RSA host key for IP address '192.30.253.112' to the list of known hosts.
Permission denied (publickey).
fatal: Could not read from remote repository.
 
Please make sure you have the correct access rights
and the repository exists.
I'm not so saavy with git I must say. It looks like permissions you've set not allowing me, but I guess I'm just doing it wrong :lol: Any ideas?
sethwid
Established Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 12:07 pm
Location: Bruchköbel, Germany

Re: Live performance with Midi keyboard

Post by sethwid »

User avatar
raboof
Established Member
Posts: 1855
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:58 am
Location: Deventer, NL
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 74 times
Contact:

Re: Live performance with Midi keyboard

Post by raboof »

You only really need a certificate if you also need to write to the repo - if you just want to read it it might be easier to use the https url, https://github.com/progwolff/performer.git
sethwid
Established Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 12:07 pm
Location: Bruchköbel, Germany

Re: Live performance with Midi keyboard

Post by sethwid »

Thanks raboof this was the answer! Now to build it...
sethwid
Established Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 12:07 pm
Location: Bruchköbel, Germany

Re: Live performance with Midi keyboard

Post by sethwid »

So I have made it another step but have run into another problem when attempting to build:

Code: Select all

$ mkdir build && cd build
CMake Error: The source directory "/home/sethwid" does not appear to contain CMakeLists.txt.
Specify --help for usage, or press the help button on the CMake GUI.
I am running AVLinux, which is on Debian Testing. I figured the build process would be the same as the instructions in progwolff's readme for Ubuntu and KXStudio, but perhaps Debian is a little different? Any ideas? Also I am running jack1, not jack2. Could this be an issue?

Here's what I have run successfully so far:

Code: Select all

$ sudo apt-get install build-essential
$ sudo apt-get install git
$ sudo apt-get install cmake
$ sudo apt-get install libjack-jackd2-dev
$ wget http://download.qt.io/official_releases/qt/5.7/5.7.0/qt-opensource-linux-x64-5.7.0.run
$ chmod +x qt-opensource-linux-x64-5.7.0.run
$ ./qt-opensource-linux-x64-5.7.0.run
$ git clone https://github.com/progwolff/performer
progwolff
Established Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 9:08 am
Location: Lübeck, Germany

Re: Live performance with Midi keyboard

Post by progwolff »

Actually it's

Code: Select all

git clone https://github.com/progwolff/performer
cd performer
mkdir build
cd build
cmake -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/usr ..
cmake .. means "call cmake on the CMakeLists.txt in directory '..' ".
Last edited by progwolff on Fri Apr 14, 2017 1:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
progwolff
Established Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 9:08 am
Location: Lübeck, Germany

Re: Live performance with Midi keyboard

Post by progwolff »

I just added a package for AV Linux: https://github.com/progwolff/performer/ ... VLinux.deb

Just install it with

Code: Select all

dpkg -i Performer-1.0.1-AVLinux.deb
sethwid
Established Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 12:07 pm
Location: Bruchköbel, Germany

Re: Live performance with Midi keyboard

Post by sethwid »

Thanks progwolff, too easy to get it running now! I can build a setlist, will report back with any questions/bugs if I get them. Thanks again!
Post Reply