Getting started with KXS 12.04 liveDVD

Unofficial support for the KXStudio Linux distribution and applications.
More info at http://kxstudio.linuxaudio.org/

Moderators: MattKingUSA, khz

mad.ax
Established Member

Getting started with KXS 12.04 liveDVD

Post by mad.ax »

Hello!
This is my first post on this board. Although I've been using Linux since 1998, I'm still a newbie when it comes to making music with my favourite (and only) OS. The reason is quite simple: until now, I've never been able to find a distro that would work well music with my setup and requirements. That all changed last night when I tried KXS 12.04 DVD. Almost everything worked out of the box! Watching videos in youtube without having to install proprietary codecs is already impressive in itself, but starting Guitarix in one click and being able to play along said video is something new!
Big thumb-up to FalkTX for providing such an efficient distro!

So I thought, I would document in this thread the post install little tips and tweaks that may be needed to get a full functional setup. Some are probably obvious to experienced users, but for instance, having to add oneself to the audio group is not necessary something that a newbie would expect.
I'll probably edit this post in the future as I find out new stuff. If you have other tips, please share!

FYI, my rig features a Phenom II X4 proc, 16Gb of RAM, NVidia GTS450, HDA sound chipset + HDMI sound chipset + HP webcam + EMU tracker pre USB.

To do after a clean install with the KXS 12.04 DVD

-Open a console and type:
sudo addgroup $USER audio
where $USER is to be replaced with your user name. After typing your required root password, you'll need to reboot for the change to take effect.

-Go to System>package manager Muon and upgrade all the proposed packages.